Fluffy Snickerdoodles

I’m not the religious type.

Nothing against Big Guns upstairs…I just never really got into it.

I guess you could trace it all the way back to CCD when I was a kid.

“I’m sorry, what? You want me to get up at what time on a SUNDAY MORNING?!”

Hi, my name is Deanna. And I am NOT a morning person. (Hi, Deanna.) If you are one of the lucky people I actually talk to in the morning…well you better make yourself known. Because you’re the only one.

So sitting me in a classroom on a Sunday morning to talk about religion wasn’t particularly on my fun-list.

(I think I literally need to make a fun-list. What crazy things can I put on there?! I know what wouldn’t be on that list: CCD)

Learning about the Bible and all the people in the Bible just never really grabbed my attention. There are so many names and stories that it’s so hard to keep up and keep track of everything! I’m sorry..but it is!

It’s still completely shocking to me that I even went to and now WORK at a Catholic College. I know, BIZARRE. Maybe it’s God’s way of getting back at me for hating CCD.

Very funny, Big Guy. You got jokes.

I also remember lying to the priest when we had to do confession during CCD. Is that bad? Should I not be saying any of this right now?

I was maybe around 7 years old and had no idea what to tell the guy when he asked if I had anything to confess. (And if you needed any more proof I’m not the religious type…I just called the priest “the guy”)

It always turned out to be an awkward exchange.

“Uhhh…I said a curse word?”

And then he would tell me how many prayers I needed to say and I would just slide off my chair mumbling “Okay” as I slipped through the door so the next kid could make up a confession.

I find I’m weird with religion.

For example, today at work we had to attend the Mass of the Holy Spirit. It’s pretty much like a Welcome Back Mass for the first semester of the year. My mind just wanders.

An actual thought that went through my mind when they were bringing the wine to the alter:

“Let’s get our drink on!!”

Yep. Like who thinks of these things during a Mass? I do, apparently.

And I always get nervous and sweaty when we have to shake other people’s hands when we give peace. “Do I look to my left or right first? Do I shake the hand of the person in front of me too? Behind me? The whole row?” Panic.

I just always consider myself more spiritual than religious. I don’t agree with certain things that the Catholic Church stands for and I believe in some things that it doesn’t. So I sort of have an abbreviated version of Catholicism that I sort of, kind of, sometimes but not really, follow.

There are, however, moments and times in my life where Catholicism is comforting. Going into a church or just speaking to whatever higher power there is can be comforting. Like a friend you need to talk to when no one else is around. Or when you’re looking for answers and don’t know where to look. It can be there for you when no one else is. I get that. It’s comforting.

Again, I sort of use it in my own way, making it into something more spiritual. Yes, I was baptized, went to CCD, and had Confirmation, but I never really saw myself as a follower of the Catholic Church. I have my own beliefs and I live my life by my beliefs and no one else’s.

And while I do talk to God, I do it in my own way and on my own time. It may not be often, but sometimes there is just no where else to turn.

And after last night, I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m annoying and wishes I would stop.

“Oh my God.”

“Oh my God.”

“Oh my God, stop it!!”

“I’m dying.”

“Oh my God.”

“Oh. My. God.”

I even think I threw in a Spanish “Ay Dios Mio”

See, I made cookies.

Snickerdoodles to be exact.

Fluffy Snickerdoodles.

When I told my parents what I was making they both had NO idea what a Snickerdoodle was.

WHAT?! Have you really never had a Mrs. Fields Snickerdoodle coookie?!

I was blown away.

When they asked me what it was I told them “It’s like a cinnamon-sugar cookie.” They were intrigued.

I’ve always wanted to make these and yesterday seemed like a great day to do it! (When is it ever a BAD day to make cookies?) I. Love. Cookies. Sorry…just wanted to share that with you.

I made a batch. Tried a cookie. Immediately started making another batch.

SO. GOOD.

So I made the first batch and as you can see, even the batter was so yummy I didn’t want any of it to go to waste.

I totally didn’t scrape the bowl down and eat the leftover batter and I REALLY didn’t lick the spatula so clean that it didn’t look used. I swear. (I may need to go see that priest now…)

Special part about these cookies? You roll the dough into a ball and then coat them in cinnamon sugar. Yes and yes.

I seriously could just eat those without cooking them. I totally didn’t though………..

One of the very good things about these cookies is that they only take about 11 minutes to cook. And the aroma they fill your house with is just wonderful. Cinnamon Sugar. One of the best smells that can fill a room. So warm and toasty and amazing.

And when they come out of the oven?

Go ahead. Just lean into your computer screen and smell. Warm. Cinnamon. Sugar.

Now you all know how much I love fluffy, moist, chewy cookies, right? Well, you better. Because I do. Now, don’t these just scream warm and fluffy? Why do they? BECAUSE THEY ARE. Need proof?

Ahh..like big, fluffy sugary clouds. Now can you see why I made 2 batches?

I made two batches because anything that makes me say “Oh My God” more than what is really tolerable means it is special.

Another reason to make these? They’re just so easy! The longest step is chilling the dough in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Everything else? Comes together in a snap!

And nothing beats having them warm from the oven.

They’re too good it should be a sin to eat them.

They are so good, they’re heavenly.

They’ll make you pray you could have them everyday.

Sorry.

But I do have a brazilliant idea. These cookies? Yeah, they should totally be the new Host given out at church during mass.

It might even get me to go to church on a regular basis.

Miracles happen everyday.

FLUFFY SNICKERDOODLES

Recipe by How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 tablespoons milk

1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon cinnamon for dipping

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combine, about 2 minutes. Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix until dough comes together. Add in milk. If dough is still crumbly, add milk 1 tablespoon at a time until it comes together. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

In a bowl combine remaining sugar and cinnamon. Remove dough from fridge and roll into big 1 1/2 inch balls. Dip in cinnamon sugar mixture and place on baking sheet. Lightly press down on dough to flatten it. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.

One thought on “Fluffy Snickerdoodles

Leave a comment