M&M Brownies

Forgive me.

Or you may just want to thank me.

I’m breaking the mold, people.

I see boundaries and all I want to do it jump over them. I break the mold. I stand alone.

I mix chocolate with chocolate…with more chocolate.

After the week I had, I couldn’t have thought of any greater way to close it out than combining chocolate.

Great plan.

However, it backfired.

Let’s just start from the beginning shall we?

It all started with the S’mores Brownies I made the other week. You remember those, right? Yeah, they’re pretty hard to forget.

Especially for me after I made another 2 batches of them over the weekend.

Hell, I figured summer is unofficially ending, so it might as well go out with a bang.

Well I brought them over to my friend Ana’s house for her to photograph. And she did an incredible job as we all know.

She called me 2 days later and told me she had a request. She asked me to make something for a birthday party that her daughter was going to. She sounded innocent enough.

Sure, Ana. What do you got?

M&M Brownies.

I nearly dropped my phone when I heard that.

Oh gosh. This was going to be great.

My brain started ticking immediately. But just M&M’s in the brownies seemed boring to me.

No offense M&M’s. I mean, you’re great. Fantastic even. I mean, give me a bag of you and I’m set for the day. My pants may not like you, but I do. And plus, don’t listen to the pants. They can’t even talk.

So how was I going to take these brownies to the next level?

Got it.

Chocolate fudge frosting on TOP of the brownies.

Bang biscuit.

Sounds amazing, right?

So how did it backfire you’re wondering.

Simple.

I didn’t get to try any.

😦 major sad face.

As soon as they were done, I wrapped them and Ana stopped by to pick them up.

It’s sort of like dropping your children off on the first day of school. You don’t know who is suffering more. The children or you?

In this case, I was totally suffering more. Off they went. Away from me forever.

Without even the tiniest of a bite.

I didn’t even say a proper goodbye.

Haunting.

But I knew they off to do a greater good. They were off to make little kids happy.

And if I have to give away my baby brownies so other kids can enjoy them and be happy, than that’s OK with me.

They’re the ones going home to parents with a crazy sugar high. Not to me.

I totally win in this equation.

I mean, really. Would you want to deal with a child right after eating that? Me either.

I can’t wait until I get to make these for my little niece or nephew one day in the future. (Not right now, Melissa and Steve. I can hear you guys hyperventilating through the computer). But man, once they do have kids, I’m going to be the best aunt ever. My brother and Melissa will hate me. But I can deal with that.

Just look at those little jewels in there. Just amazing melted, chocolate-y goodness.

And plus, where else will you find someone describe an M&M as a little jewel?

And there’s that frosting I mentioned. It just adds that little something “extra” that is so needed in times like this. In case M&M’s weren’t extra enough in brownies, why not go the extra mile?

What kid wouldn’t want to eat? Heck, what ADULT wouldn’t want to eat that? There is just something about these brownies that reminds me of being a kid. A happy go lucky-eating whatever you want without thinking of the consequences-kid.

We should always try and stay in touch with our childhood. It’ll make us stop taking things so seriously and remind us to always try and have fun and enjoy life. And if adding M&M’s to brownies does that for me, then I’ll start adding M&M’s to everything I eat.

Good for the body? Probably not.

Good for the soul? Absolutely.

So dig in. Enjoy life. And never let go on your inner child.

M&M BROWNIES

Recipe Adapted from Buns In My Oven

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) of unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups of sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups of cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon espresso powder
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups M&M’s
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9×13 inch baking sheet
  2. In a small saucepan over low heat, melt butter completely. Stir in sugar and continue cooking for 1-2 minutes, stirring constantly. Do not allow sugar mixture to boil.
  3. Pour butter mixture into a large bowl or stand mixer, beat in cocoa powder, eggs, salt, baking powder, espresso powder, and vanilla extract. Mix until well combined.
  4. Stir in the flour and the M&M’s until well combined.
  5. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 30 minutes, until a tester comes out mostly clean. The edges should be set and the center should still look slightly moist, but not uncooked. Cool on an wire rack.
FROSTING
Recipe Adapted from Cookie Madness
Ingredients:
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 1/ cups of powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract
Directions:
  • Stir together cocoa powder and powdered sugar. (Sift it if you have the time). Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the milk. Stir butter and milk into the cocoa powder and powdered sugar mixture. Stir in vanilla and mix until smooth and combined. Pour over warm brownies.
Thanks for the photos Ana!!
Leave a Reply

