Black Bean Avocado Brownies (Gluten Free)

These brownies are not tacos.

BB Brownies 1

Nor are they burritos, fajitas, or quesadillas. But I know what you’re thinking. Beans? Avocados? Where are the chips, guacamole and margaritas? Full disclosure: if you wanted to enjoy these brownies with guacamole and a margarita (or 2. Ok, or 4), then I’m pretty sure we would become instant best friends.* Brownies, guacamole, and margaritas are 3 of my favorite words.

But alas, these little lovelies are, in fact, brownies.

BB Brownies 2

Can I tell you something about New York City apartment kitchens? They’re small. Like “do I really need to keep my coffee-maker out on the counter? because if I do, then I’ll run out of counter space” small. Being that coffee is literally my life line…the coffee-maker stays out on the counter. Less counter space for coffee? It’s a deal I make every.day. Trust me, it’s for your own (and my fiance’s) good.

But like anything life throws at me, I adjust. My counter-space (or lack there of) has actually really helped me while baking. It’s made me become extra prepared and uber organized. Instead of having 5839084035683 little bowls out containing all of my ingredients, if the recipe calls for all dry ingredients to be combined, that’s the first thing I do. Place them all in a bowl, and set it aside. Same thing goes for the wet ingredients.

And when all else fails? I’ve become a master a finding extra counter-space wherever I can. On top of the stove (which can be tricky if the oven is already heating up), the top of my garbage (don’t worry…the lid is closed and it is in NO WAY touching anything inside), that tiiiiiiiiny space between the sink and the stove (it’s incredible what you can fit in a 2-inch space), the coffee table in the living room, the dining room table. All surfaces that act like an extended counter-top. #resourceful

BB Brownies 5

Having a small kitchen has actually changed the way I’ve been baking lately. I now tend to make simpler things. Simple brownies, cakes, quick breads, muffins; anything that I can easily make without the hassle of multiple plates, bowls, and equipment. I still use my KitchenAid mixer (a lot), but if a recipe doesn’t call for it, I’ll gladly leave it unused. It’s making me go back to basics. And I like it.

So why did these brownies cause my small kitchen ramblings? Because these, my black bean brownie loving friends, are made in one bowl. And even better, you don’t have to do any of mixing yourself! Throw all of the ingredients into a food processor and blend away! Can I get a woo-woo?! (so sorry..)

But it’s true. Everything gets blended together in the food processor, poured into your pan, and baked! Please don’t skip the chocolate chips. Because, well, chocolate.

BB Brownies 7

I know you’re looking at the ingredients thinking “what? how is this even a thing?” Well, it is. I promise with every fiber of my brownie-loving being, that you cannot taste the black beans. Because there is no flour in this recipe (making it gluten free!), there needs to be something that thickens up the batter. Enter: beans. It makes the batter nice and thick and brings it all together.

As for the avocado, being that there is no butter or oil in this recipe, we still need some sort of fat. But in keeping with this healthier brownie, we need to add something without adding 538058305 calories to it. Enter: avocado. It adds the buttery deliciousness without adding anything bad for you. WIn-win.

These brownies were such a lovely surprise. Rich, fudgy (like, to the MAX), and delicious. I definitely plan on making these again and again. It’s nice to have a dessert that tastes decadent, but I know won’t ruin my day of healthy eating. Oh, and having one cold out of the fridge? I can’t even handle it. Too good. Do it.

BB Brownies 6

*I’ll take my margarita(s) on the rocks with salt. Please and thank you.

***

Black Bean Avocado Brownies (Gluten Free)

(Recipe by: Ambitious Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 15 oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 of a large extra ripe avocado
  • 1 teaspoon coconut or olive oil
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips of choice, plus 2 tablespoons for topping

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 8×8 inch baking pan.
  • Place all ingredients besides chocolate chips into a food processor. Process until ingredients form a smooth batter. If the batter is WAY too thick and won’t process then add in a teaspoon or two of water (I didn’t need to do this). This batter needs to be very thick in order to produce fudgy brownies. Add in 1/3 cup chocolate chips and fold into batter.
  • Pour batter into prepared pan, sprinkle with 2 tablespoons of remaining chocolate chips. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out somewhat clean and top of the brownies begin to crack.
  • Cool pan completely on wire rack then cut into 12 delicious squares. Store in the fridge!
Leave a Reply

