Red Velvet Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

I gotta tell ya. I would be COMPLETELY fine with winning the lottery.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 17

You always hear stories about past lottery winners and how it ruined their lives, and now they have no more money, and they just wish things were back to the way it used to be before they won.

Umm..what? I can’t speak from experience, but I’m preeeeetty sure I would rock that. Every time I have a day off, or a long weekend, or even better, a whole WEEK off, I am as happy as a clam. (btw: I just looked what the meaning of that phrase was because, while I use it all the time, I never understood why clams are always so happy. Apparently, the whole phrase is “happy as a clam at high tide.” Meaning: Hide tide is when clams are free from the attentions of predators; surely the happiest of times in the bivalve mollusc world). Surely.

Learn something new everyday. Just think of all the new things I could learn in my free time if I won the lottery!

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 31

I have a wonderful 9-5 job that let’s me earn a paycheck while still allowing me to live the life I want to live. Once I leave work, I don’t check email, I don’t have people calling my cell phone, I don’t bring home work with me. Once I’m out of the office, I’m cut off. Nights and weekends are free to do what I please. The thing I’ve always said about myself is that I work to live. I don’t live to work. While I understand the importance of having a job, I’ve never had a true connection to it.

Growing up, I never knew what I wanted to do when I grew up. I still don’t. I never had that career ambition that some of my friends have. I’m more than happy going to my job, coming home, and not having it control my life. Some may find that a bit off-putting or not very ambitious, but I never want my job to define me.  My job is what I do, not who I am.

However, it’s things I do outside of work that I find I’m most passionate and ambitious about. There is nothing I love more than being home and having the whole day to bake and cook. That’s where I’m truly happy and passionate. My brain starts churning and I can’t wait to create delicious and decadent meals and treats. Instead of having a corner office on the 50th floor of a high rise, I consider my kitchen my own little corner office.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 21

I could literally be the quintessential 1950’s housewife. Minus the whole birthing and raising of the children thing, I could totally be happy staying home all day cooking and baking.* I’m not saying this is ideal for every woman but I could do this and be completely happy. It would also give me more time to turn this blog into something bigger and better, which is a top goal I have.

But the connection to work is important, because without that steady paycheck, I wouldn’t be able to do the things I’m passionate about. (Umm..baking is expensive! I can’t even [nor would I want to] fathom the amount of money I constantly spend on flours, sugars, eggs, butter, etc.)

So, obviously, the only solution that allows me quit my job, but still earn money so that I can stay home and cook and bake all day? LOTTERY.

Need proof that I would use all my time off wisely? Well, you’re looking at it. The last time I was home all day, I made these brownies. Enough said.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 19

Besides my chocolate chip cookies, this has been one of the most constant desserts to come out of my kitchen. They are my boyfriend’s favorite and I just recently made these for him for Valentine’s Day. I mean, what’s not to love here?

In this dessert there is a delicious, chewy, moist (#sorryimnotsorry), fudgy red velvet brownie that has a wonderfully tasty and simple cream cheese swirl mixed throughout. Want some brownies but are also in the mood for cheesecake? BOOM. Here you have both. No need to choose.

In the mood for a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing but don’t want to be bothered with making a nice, tall, layer cake? BOOM. All the flavors of that cake here in an easy brownie form.

There is a reason that the cream cheese icing and red velvet combination works so well. The tangyness (is that a word? probably not being that I have the red squiggly line underneath it as I type this) from the cream cheese pairs beautifully with the sweetness of the red velvet brownie.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 14

This recipe is quickly becoming one of my favorites as well. And while it has 2 different components, it couldn’t be simpler. The brownies come together quickly in one bowl and the cream cheese swirl just takes a quick mix in your mixer. (“mix in your mixer”? Ugh, I need a thesaurus)

Once your brownie mixture is done, place 3/4 of the batter into your prepared pan. Pour the cream cheese mixture on top, and finally dollop the remaining brownie batter on top of the cream cheese mixture. Take a butter knife and swirl the layers together. Try not to over-do the swirling. I like to have big swirls of cream cheese throughout the brownies. No fuss. No complicated technique. Simple ingredients and techniques that end up creating a more than extraordinary dessert.

If you are a fan of the traditional red velvet cake with cream cheese icing, this recipe is sure to please. Still on the fence about the whole red cake thing? Give this recipe a shot. It may just be the recipe to sway you to red velvet love.

(That sounds dirty)

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies 35

*along with, of course, vacations around the world. I’m not that out of my mind..

*****

RED VELVET CREAM CHEESE SWIRL BROWNIES

(Recipe by: Sally’s Baking Addiction)

INGREDIENTS:

Red Velvet Brownies

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon liquid or gel red food coloring
  • 3/4 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

Cheesecake Swirl

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Line an 8×8 baking pan with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. Make the brownie layer first. In a small bowl, beat the 2 eggs together. Set aside. Melt the butter in a large microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments until melted. Stir in 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, cocoa powder, salt, food coloring, and vinegar. Mix each of those ingredients into the batter in that order. Whisk in the eggs, then fold in the flour until completely incorporated. Do not overmix. Pour 3/4 of the brownie batter into prepared baking pan, leaving the remainder for the top.
  3. Make the cheesecake swirl. In a mixer on medium speed, beat the softened cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, egg yolk, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla in a medium bowl until completely smooth – about 1 minute. Dollop spoonfuls of the cream cheese mixture on top of the prepared brownie batter. Cover with the remaing brownie batter. Slide a knife through the layers, creating a swirl pattern.
  4. Bake the brownies for 28-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow the brownies to cool completely before cutting into squares. Cover brownies and store at room temperature for 3 days or in the refrigerator for up to 6 days. Brownies will freeze well, up to 2 months.
One thought on “Red Velvet Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

Leave a Reply

