Sugar and Spice Muffins

Progress.

prog·ress [noun. prog-res]: a movement toward a goal or to a further or higher stage: the progress of a student toward a degree.

My goal: Christmas

And what we have in the Wolowitz household is progress. The fireplace is decorated with lights, and garland, and stockings. More lights and garland in the kitchen.

…that’s it.

Oh! I started my Christmas shopping! One person is (semi) done. Well, more like someone is started.

Progress.

And I’m trying not to freak out knowing I literally have no time to go shopping any time soon. This upcoming week/weekend will be devoted simply to baking.

Let’s see. I have a work Cookie Exchange, cupcakes need to be made, cookie menu needs to be planned for our Wolowitz/Jurasek family bake-a-thon, as well as for my yearly baking weekend with my Aunt Gloria.

Shopping?

-___-

Oh. I also still need to get a Christmas tree.

UGH.

But it will get done. It HAS to get done.

It will get done.

Progress.

The only thing that’s helping me keep my sanity is that Christmas is the season of cookies. And I LOVE baking cookies. This Holiday baking season is meant for me. It completes me.

So today I am writing about…muffins.

I’m a mess.

I’ve had these muffins on my radar for a while. I was able to have some time to myself this weekend, and it was the perfect opportunity to make these.

A couple things about these muffins:

1. 2 bowls are all you need.

2. Ingredients include ones you probably, most likely, already have in your kitchen.

3. Can be put together in roughly 7.5 minutes.

4. Once cooked, muffins get dunked in melted butter. ❤

5. Taste like a doughnut and a muffin had a baby.

Do I really need to say much more?

Oh…just one more thing. If you eat these warm out of the oven, I make NO guarantees that the rest of the muffins will last long enough for you to share. You have been warned.

Oh, and did I mention that you dip these in melted butter when they come out of the oven? And did I mention that you then roll them in cinnamon sugar?

You’re welcome.

OMG. BRAINSTORM.

Cinnamon sugar —-> French Toast —-> Maple Syrup —-> Bacon

These muffins (which have the same taste flavors as french toast thanks to the cinnamon sugar), warm out of the oven, drizzled with maple syrup, and topped with bacon.

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG

Someone save me from myself.

SOMEBODY GET ME SOME BACON.

SUGAR AND SPICE MUFFINS

Recipe by On Anna’s Plate

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup milk

1 egg

For Topping:

1/2 cup butter, melted

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder and spices.  In a separate mixing bowl, combine remaining ingredients and whisk well.

Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined.  Drop batter into a lightly greased muffin tin, filling 3/4 of the way full.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

As muffins are baking, melt the butter and combine the sugar and cinnamon.

While muffins are still hot, dip the tops into the melted butter and then the cinnamon sugar mixture.

Leave a Reply

