Soft Gingersnap Cookies

I think these cookies can qualify as an Oxymoron, right?

GingerSNAP. Nothing about that screams of a cookie with a soft, pillowy, chewy texture.

But you know me and my love of soft, pillowy, chewy cookies.

YES.

So I turned Gingernaps into…Gingerpuffs?

I think I just created a new cookie. No bigs.

I think it’s safe to say I’m finally in the Holiday Baking mode. I have a huge list of cookies and cakes and bars that I would literally CANNOT wait to bake.

But like real life Holiday mode? Umm.NO.

Did you guys know that Christmas is, like, 3 weeks away? (!!) Yeah, for serious.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so unprepared for anything in my entire life.

We don’t have a single Christmas decoration up in our house. AND I even bought a Christmas decoration for our front door like 2 months ago. Have I put it up? Nope.

Have I even started thinking about Christmas shopping? Nope.

Everyone keeps asking what’s on my list. “Deanna, what do you want?” “Deanna, what do you need?”

I.HAVE.NO.CLUE. I’m coming up all sorts of empty.

And it’s not like I can just sit back on this. I mean, no matter what, December 25th is going to arrive. So I need to get my booty in gear.

But instead of thinking about what I need to buy, or think about what I want, or decorate my house, I decided to procrastinate and bake cookies.

This is going to be a long Christmas season…

So these cookies. Yeah, they pretty much SCREAM holidays.

Ginger, cloves, cinnamon, sugar, molasses. Lovely warm spices that make your house smell of deliciousness.

I actually, at this very moment, have regular store-bought gingersnaps at home. But I don’t eat them. They’re not chewy. When my mom eats them, they literally sound like they’re crushing her teeth. How is that fun?

But these. Oh gosh. You can look at them and just know they’re going to be so soft.

After you put them on the baking sheet, you can flatten them a little before baking so they come out flat. But if you’re like me, you can leave them as they are and let them bake up puffy.

Another key to baking these is that you only bake them for 8 minutes. 8!! How fantastic. They’re cooked, but have that wonderful soft, chewy, doughy-like texture. If this is making you uneasy, don’t worry. They are cooked. Promise.

If you’re a fan of spice cookies, these will knock your socks off.

Yep. I just said that.

If you need to get your butt in Holiday gear (like me), just make these cookies. It will fill your house with Christmas smells and will motivate you to get going!

…to your couch. …Eating these cookies.

KBYE.

Oh, I also watched The Adjustment Bureau this past weekend. I want Matt Damon to fight for me like that. And love me like that.

WAH.

SOFT GINGERSNAP COOKIES

Recipe by Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
Pinch of fresh nutmeg
3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 cup molasses
White sugar-to roll the cookie dough in

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
2. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and spices in a medium bowl. Whisk the ingredients together.
3. With a mixer, combine the butter and brown sugar until smooth and creamy. This will take a couple of minutes.
4. Add in the egg and vanilla extra. Mix until well combined.
5. Add in the molasses. Mix until the molasses is combined with the other ingredients.
6. With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture. Add in a little at a time until all of the flour is mixed in.
7. Form the dough into Tablespoon sized balls. Roll the dough in white sugar.
8. Place the cookie dough balls on a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat. Make sure they are a couple inches apart.
9. For puffy cookies (!!) leave them as they are. If you want a flatter cookie (to each their own..) slightly press down on the dough.
10. Bake for 8 minutes and NO longer. You want them to stay soft! Let the cookies sit on the baking sheet for a minute or two, then transfer to a cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

