Peanut Butter Maple Cookies

OK, I can finally breathe again.

My pants? Not so much.

I’m still trying to figure out what happened. All I remember is the table filled and filled with food and then all of a sudden I was home in bed with a killer stomach ache from eating too much food.

I was literally in pain.

And I didn’t even have a touch of turkey. Whoa.

Here my deal. My “going to the electric chair last meal” is definitely without a doubt gnocchi with butternut squash sauce.

Let me just talk about this.

Gnocchi: Pasta and potato. Combined. Enough said.

Butternut Squash sauce: Butternut squash. Enough said.

My aunt makes the absolute best (well, I’ve ever only had hers…) and I ask her to make it every Thanksgiving.

And we always have it during our first round of food. This year, the first round consisted of 2 types of lasagna’s, the gnocchi, and an amazing arugula, endive and radicchio salad.

I literally couldn’t sit down to eat fast enough. I put a nice pile of gnocchi on my plate with salad and lasagna (really, they were there to just keep each other company on the plate) and DUG.IN.

I really, honestly can’t even sit here and break down the flavors for you and describe to you why I love this dish so much. It just leaves me speechless.

So I ate that and when it was time for turkey, I filled my plate with all side dishes because everything just looked amazing. Artichokes, potatoes, turnips, veggies, cranberry sauce (with ridges from the can. The ONLY way to eat it, IMHO), stuffing, sweet potatoes, and fried cauliflower. I barely took one bite of each because I couldn’t fit anything else in my tummy. It was stuffed with gnocchi and it wasn’t letting anything else in there. And honestly, a tummy stuffed with gnocchi is a happy stomach. And if I missed out on other great Thanksgiving food because of that, well, that’s alright with me.

I couldn’t even fit dessert in my tummy!

Speaking of, I made my pumpkin coffee cake, mini funfetti cheesecakes, sugar free cupcakes (for my future sister in law), mini butterscotch pumpkin cream cheese pies and chocolate overload cookies.

But I wasn’t the only one. NO ONE was ready for dessert when it came time to eat it. I think I came home with the same amount of leftover desserts that I came WITH.

But it was all good. I spent the day with my family eating amazing food. No one is a loser when it comes to that.

I love Thanksgiving.

Now you’re probably thinking “these pictures of cookies has nothing to do with her ramblings.”

Duh. Yes. No.

After Thanksgiving, I took a baking break. I needed to catch my breath from the baking and the eating and the food.

My pants needed the break as well.

But I’m back in the kitchen and I made these wonderful cookies. Peanut Butter Maple Cookies.

Yes Yes Yes.

These cookies were great. The peanut butter is the first thing you taste and the maple slowly just peaks its head around the corner and whispers in your ear “Hey, I’m here too.”

Well thank you for coming, Maple. I truly appreciate it. The party wouldn’t be complete without you.

I was a little nervous when I pulled these babies out of the oven because they bake up thin. And you know me and my love for big, fluffy, chewy cookies. But when I took a bite, I was pleasantly surprised. While on the thin side, they still had a chew to them. (YAY!) That chew comes from the oats and brown sugar.

Oats. So it’s definitely a healthy cookie. Right? Right, pants?

YES.

These cookies are great for the holidays. Maple syrup. So winter-y. (Just nevermind the 70 degree weather we’ve been experiencing.) Seriously Mother Nature? WTF.

But make a batch of these (and mind you, the whole recipe makes about 4-5 dozen cookies. CHA.) and put them in cute little Christmas/Holiday tins, or cute little holiday bags, and you got yourself a great homemade gift that everyone will love.

Simple. Easy. Done.

Oh, and being that I have a thing with turning thin cookies into ice cream sammies, please totally completely make these into ice cream sammies using peanut butter ice cream. And then once you can lift your face out of those sammies, let me know how it went. kthanks.

PEANUT BUTTER MAPLE COOKIES

Recipe by: Taste of Home Cookies Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package (10 ounces) peanut butter chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter, peanut butter and sugars. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in syrup and vanilla. Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to the creamed mixture. Stir in peanut butter chips.
  3. Drop by heaping tablespoons (I used a medium cookie scoop), 2 inches apart onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown  (mine were done by 15-16 minutes). Cool for 1 minute before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

