Pumpkin Pie Bars

Sometimes I let my brain get the best of me.

And it’s always at really un-opportune times. Like just as I lay down to fall asleep because I’m still feeling like crap and the NyQuil that I took isn’t really working because my body, at this point, has just become immune to it’s glorious effects.

And all I’m doing is staring at a dark room while my mind goes on and on thinking about stupid things. And then I get all worked up because I over analyze situations and then I start getting defensive and create imaginary arguments to no one in particular because I’m alone in my bed staring at a dark room.

Isn’t there an off button? My off button used to be NyQuil, but that’s not working so much right now.

Addict? Maybe.

What.Ever.

Why do we (I) tend to over analyze everything? It can’t be healthy. I mean, as you can see I end up having arguments with…no one. I’m basically arguing with myself. And why should we (I) do that to ourselves (myself)?

I find I just work myself up into a tizzy. If I feel like there is an issue, I get defensive and crazy and I re-live every detail over and over again in my head until it’s resolved. And more than half the time, there was no issue at all. And I made myself crazy for no reason.

Like, why?

WHY!

(!!)

Well, I do know why. I like to make sure that everyone is happy. I don’t like drama or confrontation, and if I feel someone is upset with me or angry with me or doesn’t like something I did, I go nuts inside until the issue is settled and everyone is fine.

You don’t have an issue with me, right? Like, you’re not mad or upset? Because if you are, I won’t sleep until it’s all cleared and I’ll definitely be “crazy-overanalyzing Deanna” and nobody likes that Deanna. Especially me.

It’s exhausting. And I’d much rather spend my time eating these Pumpkin Pie Bars.

These Pumpkin Pie Bars are uncomplicated. Just how I wish my mind was.

Simple, easy, uncomplicated, delicious.

And hey, did you know that Thanksgiving is totally next week? Yeah, I’m completely psyched about that thought.

And did you know these would totally be perfect for Thanksgiving? And totally a great alternative to a regular old pumpkin pie?

Pumpkin pie in bar form? Sign me up.

PUMPKIN PIE BARS

Recipe by Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2½ teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup (8 ounces) butter, melted
2 cups dark brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 can (15 oz) pumpkin

For the top:
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9×13-inch baking pan and line with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on both sides.

2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and salt; set aside.

3. In a large bowl whisk together the sugar and butter. Add the eggs and vanilla extract and whisk until combined. Add the pumpkin and whisk until thoroughly combined. Add the flour mixture and, using a rubber spatula, gently stir or fold the flour into the pumpkin mixture until just combined.

4. Scraped the batter into the pan and smooth the top. In a small bowl, stir together the granulated sugar and cinnamon, and then sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted into the center has just a few moist crumbs on it. Cool completely and then, using the parchment as handles, lift out of the pan and cut into 24 squares. Store at room temperature in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

