Pumpkin Coffee Cake

I wasn’t supposed to write about this today. I was going to talk about pumpkin cream cheese muffins. And I will. Because they were completely filled with yum.

But then I made this. And I almost died.

And if I somehow died after taking my first fork-full of this coffee cake, then I actually might have been OK with that. Because I would have gone while eating something so amazingly delicious that it would have been worth it.

Guys, this cake.

You know when you eat something so good, that your head goes back and your eyes roll to the back of your head?

Yeah. I think mine are still back there.

As soon as this coffee cake came out of the oven, I knew I was in trouble. The smell that came from the oven was so amazing, that the 30 minutes it took to bake was the longest in while for me to wait.

I kept walking out of the kitchen trying to keep busy. But I just kept coming back trying to force the clock to go faster.

The cake by itself would have been fantastic. But when it comes out of the oven, you make a caramel sauce that you then POUR ALL OVER THE WARM CAKE.

The caramel seeps into the cake and makes it so moist while adding another layer of flavor that just slaps you in the face.

When this cake was done, I couldn’t wait any longer. I sliced a piece of cake while it was still warm (OK…hot) and seriously went to town.

Usually when I bake something, I rarely eat the whole thing. I take a bite or two to see how it tastes and then I’m done with it. But this cake? One or two bites just didn’t stand a chance.

Thank GOD I was alone in the house when I ate this. The sounds that were coming out of my mouth were not PG. I didn’t want to it end. That piece of cake was gone in an instant and I was left staring at the rest of the 9×13 sheet cake and then staring at my fork. Cake…fork. Cake…fork.

I literally had to walk out of the kitchen to prevent myself from eating it all. And it was THEN that I wished that someone else was in the house so they could take it away from me.

When my mom came home later, I pretty much shoved this in her face. I told her to bring it to work with her so it was out of the house and away from me. The verdict? She called me (OK..emailed) and said the cake was gone in 10 minutes. 10 MINUTES!!

Everything just worked with this cake. The pumpkin cake was incredibly flavorful. You tasted the pumpkin and spices but it wasn’t over-powering in the least. Perfect balance. The brown sugar/walnut/melted butter topping was amazing (and I don’t even like nuts! But here…the crunch that the walnuts adds really is a nice fit. And plus you can barely taste them when they’re covered with brown sugar and butter).

But what puts this coffee cake over the moon is the caramel glaze that you pour over the warm cake. Like seriously. I can’t. Brown sugar, regular sugar, vanilla and whipping cream. Melted all together to form a lovely brown oasis. Put that on top of ANYTHING and you’ve got yourself a winner. Put add it to this amazing cake? OFF THE CHARTS AMAZING.

It seeps through the cake to make it so moist and again, it’s just another layer of flavor that can’t be beat.

I seriously have no other words.

Just make this cake.

Make it for the holidays, for your family, for you friends, or just for you. Just do it.

And if you aren’t in love with it like I am…well then. I’m not sure I want to know you.

PUMPKIN COFFEE CAKE

Recipe by How Sweet Treats

Ingredients:

⅓ cups Water
1 can Pureed Pumpkin (15 Oz)
2 whole Eggs
1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
2 teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice
1 box Yellow Cake Mix (18 Ounce Box)
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 cup Brown Sugar, Divided
½ cups Flour
⅓ cups Walnuts, Chopped
4 Tablespoons Butter, Melted
¼ cups Granulated Sugar
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
¼ cups Heavy Whipping Cream

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a large bowl mix together the water, pumpkin, eggs, 1 Tablespoon of vanilla, and pumpkin pie spice until well combined. Add the cake mix and baking soda and mix until just combined.

Grease a 9×13 pan with butter and pour batter into pan.

In a small bowl mix together 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, walnuts, and melted butter. Use fingers to sprinkle over the top of the cake. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

For the glaze, combine the other 1/2 cup brown sugar, granulated sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and heavy cream in a saucepan and bring to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir until all sugar is dissolved.

When cake is finished baking, poke holes in the top with a toothpick. Pour glaze over the cake, making sure to cover all surfaces. Serve cake warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

