Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

How do you know when you’re cookie’d out?

Seriously. I need to know.

I know I talked about this in the last post, but I think this is a critical issue.

And if you are cookie’d out, how do you fix it? Do you go on a cookie fast and not eat/bake them for months? Or do you just put your head down and battle through.

Please. Somebody help me.

I possibly may be depressed about it.

I love cookies. I love baking them. I love eating them. I love reading about them. I love planning on what cookies I’m going to make for different occasions.

And now? I just can’t.

I had to make cookies last night (about 12 dozen) and my go-to cookie that I love and always bake just ended up…wrong. And I have no idea why or how or who or what.

Instead of a lightly golden fluffy brown butter chocolate chip cookie, a dark semi-flat cookie came out of the oven. Riddle me that.

I did double the recipe and sometimes that can alter a recipe instead of doing one recipe twice. So that may have been part of it. Or the cookie Gods have an awful sense of humor.

And the wonderful chocolate overload cookies? OMG.

I don’t know where my brain went. It just flew away, I guess. Flew out of my cuckoo’s nest.

I literally forgot one whole ingredient. One ingredient! Just forgot to put it in.

They were baking in the oven and I’m looking at them thinking “why don’t they look like they usually do? Why aren’t they spreading out?”

While the last dozen was in the oven, I decide to look at the recipe and just make sure I had everything in there. Because it totally wasn’t too late to do that….

And whaddya know. Forgot an ingredient.

And what until you hear what ingredient I forgot!!

Ready, spaghetti?

BROWN. SUGAR.

My most favoritest ingredient. Just left out and abandoned.

How could I?

You know what cookies have become? Monotonous. Oh my gosh…how horrible is that?

But how else can I explain these issues? I’m just so used to doing them, that I’m looking over steps and ingredients that I would normally know! And maybe I’m just not as focused as I used to be and I’m letting things or ingredients slip through the cracks.

I’m depressed just writing these words.

Cookies, I love you. I don’t want our relationship to sour. I need you.

So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to suggest a break. Not a permanent break. But I just need time. Space. I need to rejuvenate my cookie juices.

Wait..does that sound right?

But just so we’re clear…there ARE some ground rules.

1 – No cheating with other bloggers. Seriously. I mean it. Stay away.

B – I cannot cheat with other cookies. I won’t eat any that I haven’t made and I won’t even look at recipes. Promise.

Ok, so we’re good? Thanks for understanding cookies, I appreciate it.

And don’t worry. Before you know it, we’ll be back to our old selves baking together and eating together. And we’ll look back at these times and laugh and laugh and laugh.

Luckily today, I’m sharing something that’s not cookie related.

Let’s talk about pumpkin bread, shall we?

And can we talk about how simple it is to make?

And can we talk about how amazing it is?

And can we talk about how much this recipe is complete awesome sauce because it makes 3 loaves?

And can we talk about how my mom brought it to work and it was all gone before noon?

And can we talk about how my dad brought it to work and everyone loved it?

And can we talk about how I brought it to work and how excruciatingly painful it was for me to sit right next to it without smashing my face into it?

We can? Oh okay, good.

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP BREAD

Recipe by Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3 cups granulated sugar
1 (15 ounce) can 100% pure pumpkin
1 cup canola oil
2/3 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 large eggs
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray three 9×5 inch loaf pans with cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, canola oil, water, vanilla, and eggs. Mix until smooth.

4. Slowly blend in flour mixture. Fold in chocolate chips. Evenly divide batter between the three loaf pans.

5. Bake for 60 minutes, or until browned and a toothpick comes out clean. Remove loaves from oven and cool in pans on a wire rack for 15 minutes. With a knife, go around the bread and loosen the loaves. Remove from pan and cool completely before slicing.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. What will you do when Aunt Gloria bakes for the holidays??? This break better be short-lived! We won’t share, you know! And no pictures of the beautiful bounty if you’re not eating them!!! Also, mom said you still must bake for her Thursday bake sale! Please remember the brown sugar…

Leave a Reply

