Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Vanilla Frosting For Two

I just want a cupcake dammit.

That’s all.

Just one little innocent cupcake.

Well, maybe 2. Just in case I’m having “one of those days.” OK 2 cupcakes. That’s all I want.

But you can’t just make 2 cupcakes. No. You need to make 12. Or 16. Or 18. Or 24. Or 25 because there is always that liiiiiiitle extra batter left over, but you just have to throw it out because you don’t have an extra cupcake pan to make that one little extra cupcake.

I think the cupcake people got together with the hot dog and hot dog bun people and together they decided to mess with our heads. Why can’t they just sell the same number of hot dogs as there are hot dog buns in a package?! Really. Stop messing with me. I’m on to you hot dog people. On. To. You.

So I thought I was doomed. Doomed to make an unnecessary 10 extra cupcakes.

And then I saw these.

There are just certain things in this world that make me happy. And a cupcake recipe that makes only 2 cupcakes is on the top of that list.

Whoever thought of this idea deserves a medal. Seriously. All I want to do is hug this person for an awkwardly long amount of time. And I wouldn’t feel bad about it.

But what blew this recipe out of the water was that it was a pumpkin cupcake.

TIS THE PUMPKIN SEASON!!!

I love everything about fall and I love everything about baking with pumpkin. I seriously have such a difficult time deciding on what to bake in the fall because literally EVERYTHING makes my mouth water. I want to make every.single.fall.recipe.

But I have neither time nor money to accomplish that. Baby steps dear child.

But these Pumpkin Spice cuppies? Had to make.

I love my KitchenAid. It’s the closest thing I have to a relationship at this point. But I know it needs a break, just like I need break from it. It’s a healthy break. Don’t worry. We have a totally healthy relationship. He gets cranky sometimes, I overuse it sometimes. But the love is there.

So when I see recipes in which I don’t need to use it for the entire recipe, I’m a fan.

This came together in a snap. Just what I needed.

And the taste? Oh my goodness gracious.

This not only became one of my favorite fall recipes, but it just became one of my favorite cupcake recipes ever. The cupcake had the perfect balance of pumpkin taste with that warmth that the pumpkin pie spice and gloves brings. The texture of that cake was also great. It wasn’t very cakey that usually comes with baking with pumpkin. It had a nice solid, moist texture.

The kicker though? That Cinnamon Vanilla Frosting.

Like, I need to make more of that. ASAP. Weird that I thought of tripling the frosting recipe for 2 cupcakes? AFTER I ate them? This frosting needs to become a part of your life. Hell, make a cinnamon vanilla frosting face mask and wear it at night. I don’t care. Just make it.

Amazing.

It really is a great thing that this recipe only makes 2 cupcakes. I seriously could do some damage. Like “eat myself into a food coma and not fit into any of my clothes” damage.

You work hard. You deserve a treat.

Please make these. Because if you don’t, I’m going to have to and I can’t handle it.

My clothes will thank you. And you will thank yourself for making these.

Everybody wins.

PUMPKIN SPICE CUPCAKES WITH CINNAMON VANILLA FROSTING FOR TWO

Recipe by Bakergirl

Ingredients:

1 egg white
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons pumpkin puree
1/4 cup flour
1/4 heaping teaspoon baking powder
1/2 heaping teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
Pinch of ground cloves
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 tablespoons milk
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line muffin pan with two liners and set aside.
In a medium bowl whisk together egg white and sugar until thoroughly combined. Whisk in oil, vanilla, and pumpkin until fully incorporated.
In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, cloves, and salt. Gradually stir into pumpkin mixture until just combined. Stir in milk. The batter will be very liquidy.
Divide the batter between the two cupcake liners, filling slightly more than 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 15 minutes, or until cupcakes are set and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with moist crumbs attached. Cool completely before frosting.
CINNAMON VANILLA FROSTING
Ingredients:
2 1/2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 tablespoon shortening
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of salt
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1/8 heaping teaspoon ground cinnamon
Directions:
beat together the softened butter and shortening until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and salt and mix until incorporated. Slowly add the powdered sugar, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition. Add the milk and mix at high speed until light and fluffy. Stir in cinnamon and frost cupcakes!
And yes, I used my KitchenAid for this frosting. I couldn’t make a clean break. And plus, I was just too lazy to do it by hand. Whatevs.
One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Vanilla Frosting For Two

Leave a Reply

