Banana Doughnuts with Peanut Butter Frosting

If I never eat another piece of bread or a croissant ever in my life, I’ll be more than OK with that.

Italians don’t do breakfast. And honestly, neither do I. Give me a banana and a coffee, and I’m set.

In Italy, all they do is cappuccino and maybe some fruit. So you would think I would fit right in. Yeah, so did I.

The thing that had happened was we had to eat breakfast in the hotel because we always had to leave to start our day really early. But for me, I don’t eat breakfast until I’ve been up for a while. I can’t really eat as soon as I wake up. But I knew I should eat breakfast every day on vacation because our schedule was so full, I didn’t want to not eat and be starving before it was time for lunch.

And the only breakfast option was the breakfast buffet at the hotels every morning. What did this consist of, you ask?

Rolls of bread, croissants, coffee, cereal, some cold cuts, and eggs.

I’m not a huge milk fan, so I didn’t want cereal. I don’t really like eggs when I can’t see them being cooked. It’s a thing I have. If they’re not from my house, I don’t eat them. And ham cold cuts in the morning when my appetite isn’t its strongest is not the definition of appealing to me.

So what was left? Rolls and croissants and coffee.

Every. Single. Day. Roll of bread, a croissant and coffee. At first, having them was no big deal. I love bread. I truly do. And to make it even better, I was in the land of Nutella. What could be better than slathering some Nutella on bread or a croissant? Nothing. There is absolutely nothing better.

Fast forward to about day 6. Just looking at a roll would make me break out in the bread sweats. Not even the glorious Nutella could save me at this point. There are just times you reach your limit.

What I wouldn’t have done to have some french toast or even some frozen waffles. And maple syrup. And some breakfast sausages. I started dreaming of biting into a true breakfast sausage and longing for the snap of the skin when I sink my teeth into it. I would have done anything. Hell, a simple banana would have looked like gold. A muffin? A doughnut? I would have taken anything. Just please. Don’t give me another roll or croissant.

Italy, I get it. You don’t do breakfast. I understand that. I AM you. But there are times when a girl just wants variety.

So when I got home, I made doughnuts. I needed to make something to make my breakfast nightmares go away.

But I couldn’t just do chocolate doughnuts or vanilla doughnuts. No. This situation was far too serious. I needed something epic. Something that would this slap that roll of bread in the face and show it who’s boss.

Banana Doughnuts with Peanut Butter Frosting. Oh, and did I mention that there is brown butter in that frosting?

Yeah. No biggie.

Come on. You’ve all done it. Peanut butter and banana sandwiches. Right? So good.

That’s what these are. Peanut butter banana sandwiches. Just in doughnut form. And what ISN’T better in doughnut form? And add some brown butter? JACKPOT.

Italy…listen to me. Serve these doughnuts in the morning, and everyone in Italy will become breakfast people. And it will keep a certain American tourist happy. Because I’m coming  back. You know that, right? And I know you have no problem feeding me for all the other meals. My pants can attest to that.  But if you could simply just add these to your breakfast routine, that would be molto bene.

Ok, so how about a trade off. You make these for breakfast, and I’ll ease up on your gelato. There has to be a shortage from my visit. I apologize.

So we have a deal? Awesome.

Grazie, Italy.

Have a doughnut on me.

BANANA DOUGHNUTS WITH PEANUT BUTTER FROSTING

Recipe by Shutterbean

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups mashed ripe bananas (3 bananas)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons salted butter
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • hot water
Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°. Grease 2 nonstick, 6-count doughnut pans. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In a small bowl, whisk together the granulated sugar, eggs, mashed bananas, vanilla and the oil. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry until just combined. Spoon the batter about three-quarters full into the prepared pans. Bake until golden and a toothpick inserted comes out dry, 12 to 15 minutes; let cool completely on a rack.

Put the salted butter in a small pan and heat over medium-high heat until melted and nicely browned, about 4-5 minutes. Place the peanut butter in a small bowl and microwave until melted & smooth (about 15-30 seconds). Add the browned butter to the peanut butter and slowly stir in the confectioner’s sugar. If your frosting is too thick, add a tablespoon of hot water into the mix. Dip the bottom (smooth edge) of your doughnut into the peanut butter frosting.

NOTE!! These pictures are not mine. Naturally, my memory card is not working right now, so I can’t download my photos. These wonderful, beautiful photos are from Tracey from Shutterbean, The link to her website is in the recipe. Once I can download my photos, I’ll replace these great photos with my amateur, not nearly as good, photos.

Leave a Reply

