Brown Sugar Cookies

I’m leaving on a jet plane.

4 planes to be exact.

And yes, I am having a panic attack as I write this.

I hate flying. But it’s kind of essential when you are going overseas. Italy, to be exact.

I leave on Saturday. And I’ll be gone for 11 days.

Will you miss me? I sure hope so. I’d like to think we’ve created SOME sort of relationship through food.

Can I let you in on a little secret? OK..maybe 2.

I love you.

I will miss you.

I’ll miss writing to you, and I’ll miss sharing things with you while I’m gone.

OK…maybe that was 4 things.

But while you’re home (hopefully baking something) just think of me freaking out by being on planes.

Again…4 of them.

Stupid connecting flights.

But do you have $1123759 to fly non-stop to Italy? Right. Me either. So I’ll suck it up.

And probably get medicated. Or drunk. Or both.

I always have morbid thoughts that the planes are going to crash. It’s true. That’s all I think about. So DeeWally will need some help to get through these flights.

But I’m going to ITALY. So I really can’t complain much.

What am I looking forward to?

STUFFING. MY. FACE.

Anything that even LOOKS edible, I’m eating it.

These 50 pounds that I’ve lost? Yeah. Sorry about that, self. I’ll get back on track when I come home.

I mean, of course there is the scenery, the sites, the sounds, the experiences. But there is also pasta. And wine. And cheese. And meat. And desserts. And gelato. GELATO.

Lord help me.

So while I get ready to leave for Italy (a place I love without ever visiting before), I would like to share with you something I love (and something I’ve already experienced).

If you’ve been reading lately, you’re well aware of my love for brown sugar. Do you think there is brown sugar in Italy? I sure hope so.

I love the smell, the color, the texture, the taste and how it just makes everything so moist and chewy and flavorful.

Brown Sugar Cookies.

Yes Yes Yes.

Every recipe should start like this. Just sayin…

I saw these cookies and it’s like they were created especially for me. I even think my eyes bulged out of their sockets when I saw the recipe. I even looked behind me to make sure no one was playing a trick on me. Making sure that no one was messing with my computer and invented this fake recipe just to see me squirm.

Paranoid much, Deanna?

This recipe also serves as an excuse to buy more brown sugar. Tehe.

There is also ground cinnamon and ground ginger in this cookie too.

What the what?

It’s not a spicy cookie in the least. They’re in the cookie to give it some warmth and to just bring it all together. Want to leave them out? Sure. But they really do add some nice depth to the cookie. Just that little something extra that makes people go “Hmm..what’s in there?”

I love these cookies. I truly do.

And as soon as I ate one, I immediately had a thought. A great thought.

Ice cream sandwich cookies.

They’d be perfect! Sandwich some ice cream (or gelato) between these suckers and I can only imagine the euphoria that will happen with your taste buds.

I’m kinda mad I didn’t have any ice cream in the house when I made these. Sort of regretting that now. But I hope you have ice cream and make sammies! (Let me know how they are!)

These cookies are the best going away gift I could ever think of. I hope you love them as I much as I do.

And don’t worry. I’ll be back before you know it.

And probably 15 pounds heavier.

Arrivederci!!

BROWN SUGAR COOKIES

Recipe by Joy the Baker

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 1/2 sticks (6 ounces) unsalted butter, softened

1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 large egg

Directions:

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and ginger.  Set aside.

Place butter and brown sugar in the bowl of an electric stand mixer.  Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes.  Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add the egg and vanilla extract, and beat on medium speed for one minute more.

Add the dry ingredients, all at once, to the butter and sugar mixture.  Beat on low speed until the dough begins to come together  and the flour disappears.  Stop the mixer and finish incorporating the ingredients with a spatula.  Once all the flour is thoroughly mixed in, cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Place a rack in the center and upper third of the over and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Dollop tablespoons size balls of dough onto the baking sheet.  Bake cookies for 10 to 12 minutes, or until lightly browned around the edges.  Cool on the pan for 5 minutes, before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Brown Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

