Red Velvet Cookies

These cookies started out as cupcakes.

It’s true.

And then shiz got complicated.

You see, it’s fall. Fall usually brings cooler weather. No more hot, sticky, humid weather.

But Mother Nature likes to make us think we’re going crazy.

For the past week and a half it’s been in the upper 70’s and low 80’s and it’s hot, sticky and humid. And on top of that, we don’t have our air conditioner on in our house because we’re crazy and thought “Hey! It’s fall…we don’t need our air conditioner!”

BREAKING: We need our air conditioner. In the worst way.

It’s just so yucky and uncomfortable in our house.

So living in a hot, humid, sticky house on its own is not ideal. Throw baking into said hot, humid, sticky house and what you have is Sweat-a-thon 2011.

I can’t even turn the oven on without instantly sweating. Instead of putting butter in the microwave to soften, I can literally leave it on the counter, and BAM! 5 seconds later, it’s soft.

The other night, I was baking and sweat was literally dripping down my back. But I still do it. Because I love you. And everyone deserves cookies. No matter what the temperature is.

So yeah, these Red Velvet Cookies that were really supposed to be Red Velvet Cupcakes. You may remember my Red Velvet Cupcakes and that amazing, glorious Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Icing. No? You don’t remember. Well, first shame on you. Second, just scroll down and read that post.

I was making those Red Velvet’s for a birthday party. An 80’s themed birthday party to be exact. Oh Yes. TUBULAR!!!

And yes, my costume was rad, and yes my brother was the most creepy person at the party.

Want proof?

Me:

My Brother:

Yeah. Kevin’s face pretty much sums all that up.

Anyway…

The birthday girl loves Red Velvet Cupcakes, so I thought “Light bulb! I’ll make those for her party!”

However, making an icing in these conditions just wouldn’t work. I knew with all this humidity that the icing would take forever to set and it just wouldn’t work. And I was not interested to find out if the cupcakes themselves would work or not. I figured, you know what? Let’s just move on from that idea. It just won’t work. And I didn’t feel like spending extra time in my sauna-kitchen trying to figure out how to make it work.

But I knew she LOVED Red Velvet. So I thought like Winnie The Pooh.

Think, think, think. (Oh, and you have to picture me doing the Winnie The Pooh thinking pose in order for this to work.)

Got it!

Red Velvet Cookies.

Thanks Pooh Bear.

The thing that was great about this recipe was that I didn’t need to go to the store and buy any ingredients. I had everything at home. Cowabunga!! (Ninja Turtles. You know it.)

These cookies are just like Red Velvet cupcakes except they don’t have buttermilk or vinegar in them. But the taste? Oh man. It’s seriously just like biting into a Rev Velvet Cupcake.

The subtle sweetness from the cocoa powder and the reddish tint from the coloring…it was just perfect.

And they were moist and chewy! LOVE!!

Red dough balls. Tehehe. They make me giggle.

The only change I think I will make for the next time I make these (because I TOTALLY am) will be substituting regular chocolate chips with white chocolate chips. I think the white chocolate will add a nice splash of color (sort of resembling cream cheese icing) and for another layer of sweetness.

I’m secretly glad it was so disgusting in our house that I didn’t make the cupcakes because then I wouldn’t have made these. And a life without Red Velvet Cookies is a life like no air conditioning. Both are just crucial to my well being. And life just simply wouldn’t be complete without them.

RED VELVET COOKIES

Recipe by How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon red food coloring

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream butter and sugars together until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and combine until smooth. Beat in red food coloring. Stir in cocoa, flour, baking soda and salt until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out 1-2 tablespoons of dough and set on baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cookies

  1. Pingback: Brown Butter Red Velvet Brownies | Bake Me Famous

Leave a Reply

