Chocolate Overload Cookies

Everyone loves a good underdog story.

Me? I like any dog story.

But there is nothing greater than something which was destined to fail, rise up and become champion.

The 1995 Stanley Cup Finals. New Jersey Devils vs. Detroit Red Wings. The Red Wings were STACKED. The Devils? Yeah, not so much. The Devils were supposed to lose 3 straight and then just forfeit Game 4 because they were going to get beat so bad. So what did the underdogs do? Oh nothing. Just swept the Red Wings in 4 games to win the Stanley Cup.

Super Bowl 42. New England Patriots vs. New York Giants. The Giants were facing an 18-0 team looking for the first undefeated season since the 1972 Miami Dolphins. The Giants had just played the Patriots in their last regular season game and lost. It was a close game, but the G-Men still came up short. Going into the Super Bowl, the Patriots were the favorites. So what did the underdogs do? Oh nothing. Just came from behind in the fourth quarter with the help of David Tyree making a one-handed-helmet catch for the ages. And the lob to Plaxico for the game winning touchdown? Beautiful.

So what did we learn from these two stories? Never count the underdogs out.

I learned this lesson last week.

I have a HUGE pile of recipes that I’ve had printed out because I’ve wanted to try them. The stack is getting bigger and bigger and I’ve been working my way through it. I’m trying to get through those recipes before I try other things. We’ll see how that goes..

So anyway, I was looking through these recipes and saw this innocent looking chocolate cookie recipe. I kept putting it off because it honestly didn’t seem like anything too special. “Oh, I’ll get to it.”

Well I finally decided to make it one night because it seemed easy enough and I had all the ingredients, so I figured why not. It’ll just be something easy to make to pass the time.

I honestly should have known better. Really. But I wasn’t thinking.

These were the little cookies that could.

I brought them into work the next day and everyone LOVED them! I’m always bringing in things that I bake and my one co-worker said that these cookies were her favorite.

And really…how could they not be good? They had one whole cup of my favorite ingredients to bake with. Brown Sugar.

Brown sugar. Can’t say enough about it. It adds depth, and chewiness and just such a great flavor that cannot be beat.

I should have known.

And white chocolate chips! I love white chocolate. And I don’t want to hear the argument that it’s not really chocolate. Shhh. I don’t hear you. I love it. And that is final.

The sweetness of the white chocolate just goes perfectly with the richness of the chocolate cookie. It was perfect.

And you might be thinking “Oh man…that just sounds too rich and sweet.”

Nope.

The unsweetened cocoa powder gives the cookie a great chocolate flavor but doesn’t add a lot of sweetness. So adding two kinds of chocolate chips works perfectly and gives the cookie the sweetness that it needs without going overboard.

Everything just worked so well.

Never judge a book by its cover.

Lesson. Learned.

Oh! And if you’re in a crunch and need a lot of cookies on short notice, make these. The recipe makes 4 dozen cookies! I pretty much had cookies scattered all over New Jersey the next day.

New Jersey was very happy that day.

I have no idea who did that…

Chocolate Overload Cookies. The underdog that rose up and smacked me in the face for doubting it.

The cookie that can now lay claim to being one of the top dogs in my little cookie conquest.

The cookie, that if you need a chocolate fix, is a top contender.

NEVER doubt the underdog.

CHOCOLATE OVERLOAD COOKIES

Recipe by Recipe Girl

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (12-ounce) package white chocolate chips
1 (11.5 ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In large bowl, cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add in eggs and vanilla; beat well.

3. In separate bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Blend into creamed mixture just until combined. Stir in chips.

4. Drop by Tablespoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10-11 minutes, or until slightly set. Do not overbake- cookies will be soft, and will puff while baking and flatten while cooling. Cool slightly and then remove from cookie sheet to rack.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Overload Cookies

Leave a Reply

