Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies

I’m a brunette.

But I love to eat blondies.

Not blonde PEOPLE. Blondies. Like the dessert.

Oh gosh..this is going all sorts of wrong.

Hi, my name is Deanna. Welcome to my baking blog.

There are times when I don’t want a chocolate dessert. I don’t want to bite into something and have chocolate slap me across the face.

I just want a subtle sweetness.

A sugary dessert without being too sweet. Like a plain cookie dough type dessert.

Are you understanding me? Because I don’t think I understand myself (and I’m not just talking about right now). It’s scary.

And speaking of myself and scary (and I’m not talking about how I look in the morning), I’m worried.

I’m 26. I live a (somewhat) active life. I mean, I’m not sedentary. I eat my vegetables. I eat fruit. I live. I love. I enjoy.

But lately, I’m finding myself to be forgetful. I just can’t remember things and events! People have told me “Oh, use your calendar in your phone. It’s such a great reminder. It works for me!”

OK. Tried that. But then I forget to actually check the calendar. And I know what you’re thinking. “But Deanna. It alerts you when you have an event.” That’s another problem. I think I may have short term memory loss. I see the alert, and then I’ll do something and I forget all about it.

Or someone will ask me to do something and I’ll be so excited about what we have planned that I don’t write it down, or don’t put it in my calendar because I think “Oh, I’ll TOTALLY remember that!”

Guess what? Nope. Not at all.

And then I’m put in that awkward situation where I have two things the same night because SURPRISE! I forgot. And then I look like that horrible person that you can’t ask to do things with.

This worries me.

Because I’m totally fun! Sometimes. Well, at least once a month I’m a good time. Promise.

So if you’re reading this and I promised I would do something with you and then I ended up not doing that thing…I apologize. Totally didn’t mean to. Literally forgot.

I think this is happening because there are times when I have so many things going on in my little brain, that it’s becomes information overload. No more info can be squeezed into it and therefore nothing processes.

And names! When did I get so bad at forgetting names? My previous job, we always had new people coming in, coming out. And I would get to know every single name. But now? I find it so difficult to remember students names. And I see them often!

I don’t understand.

Do I need to start doing daily crossword puzzles? (Please say no. I am AWFUL at them)

Word searches? Those I can TOTALLY do.

OK. Now what was I talking about originally?

See? How quickly one can forget.

Oh right. I was talking about cannibalism. I like to eat blondies.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies.

One thing that I will never forget is just how amazing chocolate and peanut butter are together.

Those Reese’s people. Yeah, they are totally on to something.

And these blondies are the perfect treat if you something sweet, but not overwhelming. Chocolate-y without punching you in the face.

Non chocolate brownies. That’s how I would describe blondies. And as much as I LOVE brownies, I really do think I prefer blondies over brownies.

I may get a lot of gasps over that (or maybe just one), but it’s true. Actually, when I think about it, almost all of my favorite desserts are cookie dough type desserts.

My two favorite cookies? Chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cookies with chocolate chips. Both cookies don’t really SCREAM chocolate. Yes, there is chocolate in them, but it’s not the major player. It’s the side kick.

And again, there is that chocolate peanut butter combo. It’s just too good.

These also have a great chew to them as well. And you all know how I feel about chewy-ness. Love it.

This recipe also has 2 cups of one of my favorite ingredients to bake with. Brown sugar. I love everything about brown sugar. It adds the best sweetness and keeps everything so moist and chewy.

So please. Whip up a batch of these and just enjoy.

Sit back, relax and forget about the day.

And we all know I’m really good at that last part.

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP BLONDIES

Recipe by Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
2 cups light brown sugar
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch by 13-inch pan and set aside.

2. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter and brown sugar, stirring constantly until smooth. Remove from the heat, and stir in the peanut butter, until creamy and combined. Set mixture aside to cool.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

4. Add the eggs, one at a time, to the peanut butter mixture, mixing well after each addition. Add the vanilla extract and stir to combine. Pour the mixture into the prepared dry ingredients, and stir until batter is smooth. Fold in 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips, reserving the rest for sprinkling on top.

5. Transfer the batter to the prepared pan, spreading the batter evenly to the edges of the pan. Sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup chocolate chips and lightly press them into the batter.

6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the top is golden and the edges are slightly browned. Remove blondes from oven and place them on a wire rack to cool. Once cooled, cut into squares and serve.

Leave a Reply

