Light Chocolate Bundt Cake with Coffee Glaze

I don’t like change. I like to be prepared for things.

Surprises? Sure. Just as long as I know what’s going on 😉

I like routine. Something about it is comforting to me. It’s something I can count on.

I have a lot of routines, habits, tendencies, superstitions, whatever you want to call it.

I have a turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread everyday for lunch. I can’t even begin to tell you how many I’ve had in my lifetime. And I’m still not sick of it. There are times I still crave it.

If I’m driving somewhere, I take the exact same route every time. And when there is a detour, I’m instantly panicked.

When I hear a song or an album I like, I listen to it non-stop until I can’t handle it anymore. Until the thought of listening to it for the 5,000 time would be torturous.

When I go to New Jersey Devils games, I wear the same shirt/jersey until they lose. I get the same food at every game too. As soon as warm up’s are done, I get an order of chicken fingers and french fries. I honestly can’t remember when I got something to eat other than that. I like it. It’s my thing. And I won’t change it. Diet, no diet. I will always order chicken fingers.

You know, as I sit here thinking about it, I could go on and on about my routines/habits/tendencies/superstitions for sports (in particular) forever. And it’s making me think there may be something slightly wrong with me.

If the Devils score a goal, and I’m home sitting in a particular way, I will not move. I will stay that way because obviously the way I’m sitting is affecting them on the ice. They play better when I’m sitting with my legs crossed.

Duh.

You still want to be my friend, right?

Every morning when I get into work, I turn on my computer, open my email first, then my internet. I like my toolbars on the bottom of the screen in a particular order. And if they get messed up, I’m thrown off.

Think I’m crazy yet?

Every day at 9:00, I make my coffee. And it’s always the same kind. Sumatra Reserve Extra Bold. Once that’s made, I sit at my desk with my lovely, wonderful, amazing coffee, and I go through my emails.

Every day.

If you ever need to find me during a weekday, that’s where I’ll be and what I’ll be doing.

Coffee and emails. To me, a match made in work heaven.

You know what else goes with coffee?

Chocolate.

Tehehe

And this bundt cake combines the two perfectly.

Light Chocolate Bundt Cake with Coffee Glaze.

I know what you’re thinking. “Light?”

I know, I know. I thought the same thing too. Well, actually not really. I was kinda excited about the “light”. After making so many decadent desserts, it was nice to make something that wasn’t so heavy.

So how is it not heavy you ask? 2 things:

– There is no butter in this recipe. Nada, zero, zilch. Whoa, I know. Instead of butter? Vegetable Oil.

– Also some of the chocolate is replaced with cocoa powder.

I know, I know. It’s not CRAZY changes, but it’s something. And you know what? You will never taste the difference!!

It’s still so moist, and chocolately, and decadent. I also just love the dark, rich, chocolately color of the cake. You can just tell by looking at it that it’s going to be something so wonderful.

Something magical happens when you combine coffee and chocolate. Add some instant coffee or instant espresso to your batter and watch out! You don’t necessarily taste the coffee in the cake, but it just enhances the chocolate flavor and makes it that much richer.

If you need a chocolate fix, this is definitely the way to go without feeling too guilty about eating a slice (or 2..).

And when you combine the cake with the coffee glaze? Ahh…so great. It just brings it to another level.

The glaze is fantastic because instead of thinning the powdered sugar with vanilla extract or milk, you use freshly brewed coffee.

Chocolate and coffee. Coffee and chocolate. Such a great combination.

Maybe even better than coffee and emails.

I like my chocolate cake with coffee glaze with…coffee.

LIGHT CHOCOLATE BUNDT CAKE WITH COFFEE GLAZE

Recipe by Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

1 3/4 cups (8 3/4 oz) all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
3 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
3/4 cup (2 1/4 oz) Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder
1 cup boiling water
2 cups (14 oz) packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F and place a rack in the bottom third. Spray a 12-cup bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray with flour.

Whisk the flour, salt and baking soda together in a medium bowl.

Add the chocolate, cocoa powder and instant espresso to a large heatproof bowl. Pour the boiling water over the mixture, then cover the bowl and let stand for 5 minutes. Whisk until the chocolate is melted and smooth and the mixture is combined. Let cool for about 2 minutes.

Add the brown sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla to the chocolate mixture, and whisk vigorously until smooth. Sift half of the flour mixture over the batter and gently whisk to incorporate. Sift in the remaining flour mixture and whisk gently until combined.

Transfer the batter to the prepared bundt pan and level the top. Bake for about 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer pan to a wire rack and cool for 10 minutes, then turn the cake out and let cool completely on the rack.

COFFEE GLAZE

1 cup (4 oz) confectioners’ sugar
5 teaspoons brewed coffee
3/4 teaspoon instant espresso powder (optional)

Combine everything in a medium bowl and whisk until smooth. Drizzle over the cooled cake; let set for about 15 minutes before serving.

One thought on “Light Chocolate Bundt Cake with Coffee Glaze

Leave a Reply

