Blueberry Crumb Muffins

I love fruit. I truly do.

I do, I do, I do.

I have fruit every day. Every single day.

When I’m at work, I go to Shop Rite during my lunch and I get a huge serving of pineapple (and sometimes I mix in cantaloupe) from their fruit bar. Look at me being adventurous and mixing fruits. Gosh. Sometimes I can’t even handle myself.

That’s my 3:00 snack. And I never get sick of it.

On the weekends, I’ll have whatever is in the house. And there is ALWAYS fruit in the house.

I have yet to find any fruit that I don’t like.

Except maybe mango’s. Not my favorite..

Plus anything with a big pit like that and makes it difficult to eat should be illegal. I don’t want to fight for my food.

In fact, growing up, my parents never really had to force me and my brother to eat fruits and veggies. We both just pretty much loved them all. And just like fruits (aside from the whole mango/pit thing), I have never met a vegetable I didn’t like.

To this day, I am completely content with just having a vegetable side dish with dinner and no starches (Shock! Gasp! The Horror!). Sometimes I’ll just steam my veggies and be as happy as a clam. (Side note: I never understood that saying. Why are clams happy? Maybe because they love fruits and veggies too?)

Not into steamed veggies? Have you ever tried roasting veggies? Can I BE asking any more questions right now?

Forget about it. I literally could eat an entire sheet of any roasted vegetable. Love.

Just speaking of roasted vegetables is making me think of my favorite vegetables: Butternut Squash.

I think butternut squash is THE MOST underrated vegetable on the planet. Why it is not used more often completely boggles my mind.

And when it’s roasted? It’s the GREATEST thing ever. On the real.

Listen at me, people. Try roasted butternut squash. It will change your life. So. Good.

And plus I just love colorful food. I mean, it’s orange. Orange! How fantastic!

Right.

Now where were we?

Fruit? Ah yes. Sorry about that. I just get so excited.

I think I get my love of fruit from my Dad. He always is snacking on peaches, blackberry’s, plums, nectarines, blueberries. You name it. He loves it.

So in honor of my fruit-loving father (and because it’s summer, and summer and fruit just go together, AND because I have yet to make anything besides chocolate and more chocolate on this blog) I made some Blueberry Crumb Muffins.

Blueberry muffins are one of Dad’s favorites. And he also loves crumb cake. So what do I do? Combine the two!

A fantastic blueberry muffin with a crumb topping. Do I know the way to my father’s heart or what?!

And seriously. Who doesn’t love muffins?

Something about them just warms my heart. I feel that every baker should have a solid muffin recipe.

You don’t? No worries. I got ya covered.

You’re basically just starting with a regular blueberry muffin batter. Well, not just any “regular” muffin batter. You want a REALLY GOOD muffin batter. So good that if you “spill” some  by “accident” you can just use your finger to clean it up. Geez…who does these things??

Once you have the batter separated into the muffin tins, you take your crumble mixture which contains flour, brown sugar, melted butter, cinnamon and baking powder, and sprinkle (generously) on top of each muffin.

What? You want a closer view?

Oh heck yes. They’re like little rocks of awesome.

Then put them in the oven and let your house be engulfed by the smell of warm blueberries and sugar.

And when they come out of the oven?

TA-DA!!

Goodness gracious. Just look at the blueberries oozing out of the muffin. Pure beauty.

Let them cool in the pan for a couple minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Once they were barely done cooling, I just couldn’t help myself. I grabbed one.

Time to reveal the goodness!

Don’t be shy, little muffin. It’s going to be okay.

Oh yeahhhhh. Look at all that blueberry craziness.

Close up. Can you handle this?!

End scene.

BLUEBERRY CRUMB MUFFINS

Recipe by Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

Crumb Topping
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

Muffins
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup milk
1 pint blueberries

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Line muffin pans with paper liners.

To make the crumb topping:  Add the flour, baking powder and cinnamon to a medium bowl; stir with a fork to combine.  In a small saucepan, melt the butter.  Add the brown sugar to the pan, using a rubber spatula to combine with the butter.  Pour the butter/brown sugar mixture over the flour mixture and use the fork to stir until all of the flour is moistened.  Set aside while you make you muffin batter.

To make the muffins:  Whisk the flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg in a medium bowl.  In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and both sugars on medium speed until pale in color, about 2 minutes.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition and stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl as necessary.  With the mixer on low speed, add 1/2 of the flour mixture then the milk and finally the remaining flour mixture, beating only until just combined.

Scrape the sides of the bowl then add the blueberries, folding them into the batter.  Divide the batter evenly among the wells of the muffin pans, filling each about 3/4-full.  Break the crumb topping into small pieces and scatter over the tops of the muffins.  Bake for about 22 minutes, or until the tops of the muffins feel firm and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Transfer the muffin pans to a wire rack and let the muffins cool for a few minutes before removing them from the pan to the rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

