Espresso and Cookies

Not Espresso Cookies. Although…hey, that actually sounds pretty phenom. I need to get on that…

Anywho.

I have great friends. I told you that, right?

Like, I have the kind of friends that if I sat down and truly measured their meaning in my life, I would probably shed a tear (or 10).  And if I did that, I probably wouldn’t seem worthy of having the friendships that I do.

Friends are like cookies. No matter what the question is or no matter what you’re going through, the answer to any situation is always cookies.

Had a bad day? Had a good day? Need something to lift your spirits? Want to celebrate?

Have a cookie! They work in EVERY situation.

The same can be said about friends. Whenever there is something meaningful happening in my life (whether it be good or bad, happy or sad) I need my friends. They are who I want to share things with.

Now you mix the two and you have something that is just very, very special. So special that my heart might burst with all the love that comes from it.

I was able to have one of those special moments last weekend.

I made about 5 dozen cookies.

Yes, I did.

I made them because I was spending the weekend at my friends shore house with her family. Life lesson? Never go to somebody’s house (especially as a guest) empty handed. You just don’t. That’s a rule.

And what is better than homemade cookies? Honestly.

Like sit there and try and figure out anything better than a freshly made (still warm) homemade cookie……

………………

Still nothing? That’s ok…because there isn’t anything better!

So I was thinking about my friend and what she likes. Chocolate and peanut butter.

Enter: Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Swirl Fudgy Cookies.

It’s a mouthful. But such a wonderfully delicious mouthful.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Swirl. Ugh, just had to say it again. Unreal.

Imagine a chocolate peanut butter heaven. Imagine yourself jumping on clouds made out of these cookies.

Hey, it’s heaven. You want to jump on clouds made from chocolate peanut butter cookies? Why wouldn’t you?!

These cookies don’t have peanut butter chunks. They have peanut butter swirled beautifully throughout the cookie so the peanut butter flavor makes itself one with the cookie.

I knew Courtney (that’s my friend. Hi Courtie!!) would absolutely love them.

Now, are you sitting down? I need to tell you about this next cookie.

Sit. Please. Thank you.

Ok, ready? Deep breath.

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Now, while I will let that sink in, I will also tell you that this cookie deserves its own post. And they will have their own post. But I need to share this with you, and these cookies are just so darn good that yes, they are worth a double post.

Holy Everything That’s Good in this World.

Everyone is on the search for the elusive perfect chocolate chip cookie. Well, look no more.

By simply doing 2 small things, these cookies catapult themselves as the front runner for the best chocolate chip cookie ever. And maybe quite possibly the best cookie ever. Period.

Brown Butter.

How amazing is butter just in regular form? Pretty amazing.

Now put it in a saucepan, and brown it. Stop it. I can’t. Literally can’t handle how good this is.

Browning the butter gives the cookie such a depth of flavor and a hint of nuttiness that is just too good. Too too good.

Another trick? Use bread flour instead of regular all-purpose flour.

Why? Because it makes the cookies chewy.

Done deal. End of story.

I actually made these cookies before and gave them to my friends to try.

I was going through a hard time and Courtney, Jaclyn and Laura were there for me like they ALWAYS are. So I wanted to say thank you.

(That completes my trio of  best friends. I had to mention all their names because I knew if I only mentioned Courtney, I would TOTALLY be hearing it…)

Another life lesson? Make things for your friends. It’s just a nice thing to do.

So I made the cookies and Courtney brought them home and well…she never had any. See the thing is, her sister and brother ate them. And while Courtney wasn’t allowed to eat them because she did a very bad thing that night (story for another time..) her sister and brother LOVED them. So I knew since I was spending the weekend with them, I just had to make these for them again.

And thus concludes the reasoning why I made Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudgy Cookies and Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Amazing cookies for amazing people. Oh, and beach living for a weekend.

Truly nothing gets greater than that.

Brown butter doesn’t even stand a chance.

……

Speaking of amazing people, I need to make a little shout-out.

A shout-out to the most amazing person I have ever known. A person that without her in my life, would make my life dark and cold and meaningless. She’s the strongest, one of the funniest, most caring person in the entire world. A person that so many people love and adore and who honestly just makes the world a brighter place.

My mother.

It was her birthday 2 weekends ago and to celebrate we got her an espresso machine.

And as time is going by, I’m not sure who is loving the gift more. Me? My Mom? My Dad? It’s a toss-up. Although I think I’m winning by a hair.

Seriously in love.

It’s the cutest little thing and makes amazing espresso! It’s so creamy and tasty and I CAN’T GET ENOUGH.

But I mean, I hope you like your gift, Mom. You totally deserve it.

You guys want to see it? I totally know you do…

STOP IT!

So amazing. (Don’t mind the onions. Seriously. No big deal.)

And with that great stream of delicious, up-all-night espresso pouring out, I say: Cheers Mom.

Cheers to being the best mother a girl could ever have. Thank you for listening, for loving, and for laughing with me. Thanks for putting yourself second when you really should put yourself first. That never goes unnoticed.

Thanks for influencing my love of cooking and baking by always letting me in the kitchen with you. Thanks for the endless amounts of homemade meals even when you were dog tired from work.

I love you more than life.

Even more than cookies.

Happy Birthday. Cheers.

Just ignore my man hands. I do.

….

RECIPES

Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Swirl Fudgy Cookies.

I found this recipe from an amazing food blog Picky Palate. Ch-Check it out here! For the cookies, click here. (PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE click.)

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

I will forever be grateful for Recipe Girl for making these cookies a part of my life. To go right to the recipe you better click here, or I swear on all things Holy I will hunt you down if you don’t.

One thought on “Espresso and Cookies

  1. ❤ yeppp, laur and i def would have given u serious grief if you only mentioned the other brat! 🙂 ❤ love u and ur creations! i'll never deny them again!

Leave a Reply

