Baked Doughnuts

I’m going to share with you a little short story.

Sit back kiddies, this will be a good one.

I love doughnuts. I purchased a doughnut pan. I waited anxiously for 7-10 business days for it to be delivered. It finally came in. I am OBSESSED.

The End.

Pulitzer Prize material right there.

Have you ever looked at a doughnut and thought “Nah, that’s ok. I don’t want one.”

How could you say such a thing? It’s deep fried dough that can be stuffed with delicious things like jelly and creams. They can be topped with wonderful toppings like sugar, glazes, and sprinkles. Sprinkles! Is there anything more cheerful than sprinkles?! (Not Jimmies. Please, I’m from North Jersey, people. If you want Jimmies, head to a South Jersey/Philly baking blog.) And if you do, 2 things: 1. Ew, Philly. 2. Go Devils/Giants/Mets! (Yes, Mets fan here. No comments, thank you. It’s hard enough as it is…)

Oh, and did I mention that it’s DEEP. FRIED. DOUGH? What can be better? Like honestly, hand me a zeppole covered in powdered sugar and I am set. For life.

I guess the only thing better than deep fried doughnuts are baked doughnuts.

Wait, did I just say what I think I just said? Baked Doughnuts?

I know what you’re thinking. “Deanna! Baked doughnuts will NOT be as good as a full-fat, greasy, slathered-in-glaze doughnuts.”

Girl, please. Check yourself before you wreck yourself.

One of the many great things about these doughnuts is that you can totally eat like 6 of them without feeling guilty. Why? Because they’re baked and not fried in all that (wonderful) oil. (Not that I ate 6 doughnuts or anything. I swear………)

Ok, moving on.

But for serious. As soon as I finished tearing my doughnut pan out of the box, I was mixing together a batter for Baked Vanilla Doughnuts.

These doughnuts are GOOD.They taste so similar to their fried counterparts, that your taste buds will think you’re tricking them. Such a jokster you are.

Doughnut-y. Is that a word? Because that’s what they totally taste like. I’m telling you. I swear on my dessert-loving heart that these are legit.

And will you just look at that top picture? Too lazy to scroll up? It’s totez fine. I got ya covered….

My god, that’s gorgeous.

Excuse me while I’m just wipe off the drool off my keyboard……….

OK, done. I purell’ed. It’s all good.

These doughnuts were such a great mix between a light, airy texture of a doughnut and the more dense texture of a cake. So what I’m really trying to say is that yes, your prayers have been answered. The dessert Gods have heard you preach, and there is a dessert (or breakfast, or snack) that combines both the textures and flavors of fried doughnuts and cake. This is one religion I could actually get behind.

Don’t believe there are dessert Gods? Just as I’m typing this, Champagne Supernova by Oasis just started playing on my Pandora. One of my favorite songs ever ever ever. Coincidence? I think not. Those dessert Gods know a good thing when they see it. Fate. Trust it. Believe it.

Plus, add a vanilla glaze and these are out of control. It’s the perfect amount of sugar without over-powering the taste of the doughnut. And really, it’s vanilla glaze. Is there ever anything wrong with that? Nah.

And as if Baked Vanilla Doughnuts weren’t enough, I also made Baked Chocolate Doughnuts.

Hell to the yes.

I don’t do things half-way. I go all the way, come back, and do it again.

Feast your eyes on these puppies:

These.

Oh my were they yummy.

These doughnuts are covered with a Buttermilk Glaze. The glaze didn’t form a hard shell like some glazes usually do. It seeped into the doughnut and made itself one with the doughnut. When biting into one (or 3..) you could taste how they just melted into each other.  That’s totally how a glaze and doughnuts should be. They should love each other and never let go.

The best love story around.

So yes. Doughnuts. Baked, fried, vanilla glaze, sprinkles. However you take them, it’s all amazing. It’s all good. It’s all heavenly.

Get on this train. The doughnut train is here, and it’s here to stay. And that’s just how I like it.

Oh wait. One more thing…

Fact: Doughnuts are sexy.

Don’t say I’ve never taught you anything.

BAKED VANILLA DOUGHNUTS

Recipe by Fake Ginger

1 cup all purpose flour
6 Tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons buttermilk
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon butter, melted

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 – 2 teaspoons heavy cream (or milk)
sprinkles

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Lightly grease a doughnut pan.

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Stir in milk, eggs, vanilla and butter. Beat together until well blended.

Spoon the batter into a 6-doughnut pan. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until doughnuts spring back when touched. Allow to cool slightly before removing from pan.

To make glaze, blend confectioners’ sugar, vanilla, and heavy cream, starting with 1 teaspoon and adding more as needed. Dip each doughnut into the glaze and put sprinkles on top.

BAKED CHOCOLATE DOUGHNUTS

Recipe by Fake Ginger

1 cup all purpose flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg

Lightly grease a doughnut tin and preheat the oven to 350F.

Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda, and then whisk in the sugar, cinnamon and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the butter, buttermilk, vanilla and egg. Add to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Do not overmix, or your doughnuts may be a bit rubbery.

Spoon the batter into the doughnut pan. Fill each cup 1/2 to 3/4 full.  It’s important not to overfill, or as the doughnuts rise, you’ll lose the hole.

Bake for 6 to 10 minutes (depending on the size of your doughnut pan), until the doughnuts spring back when touched. Let cool slightly on a wire rack before glazing.

Buttermilk Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
1 – 2 teaspoons buttermilk

In a small bowl, whisk together powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of buttermilk. Continue adding buttermilk a few drops at a time until it reaches a good dippable consistency. It should be thick enough to stick to the doughnuts but not so thick that it’s clumpy.

3 thoughts on “Baked Doughnuts

  1. Deanna! Love your blog! You are an amazing writer and it seems like an amazing baker too. Although I have an issue, I haven’t tasted any of these amazing creations yet. Lets change it. Awesome job 🙂

Leave a Reply

