Chewy Lemon Cookies

OMG, guys.

Seriously.

Christmas is over.

I really don’t know what to do with myself. I’ve been going non-stop making a bazillion cookies and desserts and now…SILENCE.

Haaalllp  me.

And I know the two of you are thinking “Where have you been?!” Real talk: BUSY.

I don’t know how all these food bloggers do it. With their cooking and their baking and their gorgeous photos and holiday recipes and stories and their blogging. ALL in the midst of Holiday craziness. I just didn’t have the time to sit and write.

And speaking of Holiday baking and craziness, here is a run down of some treats I made this year and won’t blog about because I didn’t take photos because I suck:

  • Caramel Popcorn and Cashew Cookies (I know!)
  • Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha Cookies
  • Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies
  • Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies with Kahlua
  • Snicker-Chip-Doodle Cookies (think Snickerdoodle with toffee and chocolate chips. You’re welcome.)
  • (Pounds and pounds of) Chocolate Peanut Toffee
  • Eggnog Bundt Cake (not a Bundy cake. You don’t want to make that mistake…)
  • Gingerbread Blondies
  • Peppermint Chocolate Overload Cookies (Yeah, they pretty much tasted like a girl scout thin mint. Yes. I freaked too)

So yeah. That’s why I’ve been busy. My bank account has shrunk and my belly has grown. Seriously. It legit looks like I’m in my third trimester.

But what can I say. I was able to spend the weekend with my family. They complete me.

This photo has taken over my life.

So by now I’m sure you are all suffering from a Christmas hangover. You can’t look at another candy cane. No more peppermint. No more eggnog. Gingerbread? No thank you.

So here I am to serve as your palate cleanser.

Chewy Lemon Cookies.

These cookies have single handily made me OBSESSED with lemon desserts. I want to make anything and everything lemon.

And in the midst of chocolate and sugar and butter and more chocolate, these are just such a delight to eat. Such a nice diversion from my usual diet.

These have everything lemon. Extract, zest, lemon juice. It makes such a fresh cookie that is amazing. And naturally has the chew that I love.

All I know is that after all the junk I’ve eaten the past couple days, I found myself craving these cookies. If you’re uncertain about lemon cookies, or lemon desserts in general, try these cookies before you make any assumptions. Judging isn’t nice. Totally not nice. And maybe Santa will come and take away all your presents if you keep it up. So try these cookies before you judge the little lemon.

Now if you excuse me, I have a date with the treadmill for the next oh I don’t know, MY ENTIRE LIFETIME.

Love ya, Christmas.

More real talk: I’ve, yet again, become obsessed with Hanson. And I may or may not have downloaded 6 of their songs on my iPod.

YEP. I believe I’m 13 years old again.

Stop judging me and the lemon.

MMMBop.

CHEWY LEMON COOKIES

Recipe by: How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick ( 1/2 cup) of unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 teaspoons freshly grated lemon zest/rind

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon lemon extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Mix flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.

In a large bowl, add cooled, melted butter and whisk sugar into it until smooth. Add in egg and egg yolk, mixing to combine, then whisk in vanilla and lemon extracts, lemon juice and lemon zest. Stir in dry ingredients, mixing until a dough forms. If needed, use your hands to create the dough (I did).

Using an ice cream spoon, scoop the dough into golf-ball sized balls and place on a baking sheet 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until middle is just set an edges are slightly golden.

One thought on “Chewy Lemon Cookies

  1. First, you’re not right in the head. Second, I do believe there is no promised baklava on that list of yours… Merry Christmas to me, indeed.

Leave a Reply

