Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Bottomed Vanilla Cupcakes

Oh my these cupcakes.

For the past 2 weeks, I’ve been cookie’d out. Couldn’t make them. Couldn’t look at them. Couldn’t eat them.

Well, I mean, if I needed to I could totally take a little nibble. Alright, for serious. If you were to twist my arm and make me scream UNCLE!!!! I totally could eat one. I mean, let’s not get crazy here.

But I was just on cookie overload. I had to make a lot of cookies for some different events that I was starting to see them in my dreams. Pretty sweet dreams, but still. If there was ever a cookie quota, I’m sure I passed it.

Insert my brother.

My brother loves cookie dough. And it was his birthday last week and I wanted to make him something that incorporated that. But I just couldn’t bring myself to make dozens of cookies again.

::Winnie The Pooh Thinking::

Who doesn’t love cupcakes?! And who doesn’t love cupcakes on their birthday?!

And what cookie dough loving brother wouldn’t love chocolate chip cookie bottomed vanilla cupcakes?!

BOOM.

Thanks again Pooh Bear. Always to my rescue.

I figured this would be the best way to give my brother a fantastic birthday treat by combining two great things (cookies and cupcakes) without me having to go crazy. Win win.

So here’s the run down: Bottom layer of chewy chocolate chip cookies topped with a lovely vanilla cupcake, finished with an amazing vanilla buttercream.

Yup.

I knew he was going to love them. So without further adieu it was time for some birfday sanging.

Margarita candle. This is real life.

Please ignore the stains. We’re very sloppy eaters apparently. And go ahead and just ignore my baking ingredients in the background. Real life.

“Steve, let me take a picture of you and your cupcake.”

“Well, no don’t cuddle with it. I mean, pick it up.”

“Ok, now smile!”

-_______________-

Real. Life.

So what do these puppies look like inside?

Does anything get better than that?

Oh yes it can. BT-Dubbs: That’s totally the standard frosting to cupcake ratio.

Trust.

The best part about these cupcakes? My brother loved them. And that was the only thing that matter on this night.

So Happy Birthday Stephen. Thank you for the being the best friend a person could ever ask for. My life would be meaningless without you and I hope this year brings you happiness and laughter and love because you deserve it all.

CHEWY CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE BOTTOMED VANILLA CUPCAKES

Recipe by How Sweat Treats

Cookie Layer Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar, loosely packed

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt together and set aside in a bowl.

Beat butter and sugar together in the bowl of an electric mixer until it’s light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Add in dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Line a muffin tin with liners and give each a quick spritz of non-stick spray. Using a spoon also sprayed with non-stick spray, press about 1 1/2 tablespoons of cookie dough into the bottom of each liner.

Vanilla Cupcake Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

2 whole eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup milk

Directions:

Cream butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add half of the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add the milk. Once mixed, add remaining dry ingredients. Using an ice cream scoop, drop batter on top of cookie dough mixture. Bake cupcakes at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes.

Note: I used leftover cookie dough to make cookies that I used to garnish the cupcakes. Also, the buttercream frosting is the same frosting I used in the Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

