Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

Funfetti.

Everyone knows it. Everyone loves it.

I grew up having this cake. I’m sure you guys did as well. And I’m sure you grew up making it from the box cake mix. Hell, I always grew up on the box cake mix.

And honestly, what’s not to love about box cakes? Simply add eggs and oil and in about 30 minutes, you have a cake. No flour all over the kitchen, no measuring cups overtaking your (lack of) counter tops, no blood, sweat and tears.

But really…where’s the fun in that?

When I was younger, my mom would always make a cake for my birthday. And I always wanted simple chocolate cake with vanilla icing or a funfetti cake with vanilla icing. Simple. Perfect. Lovely.

Sorry for the pun, but there is just something so fun about funfetti cakes.

Want in on a little earth shattering news?

Listen up closely folks.

Funfetti is simply a vanilla cake with sprinkles in the batter.

Holy shiz.

And speaking of fun. How crazy cute and fun are sprinkles? (Not jimmies. Ew, can’t stand that)

All different colors and shapes and sizes. So adorable. Throw them in a cake and watch them just dot the batter with all different colors. So. Cute. Fun.

Me and my mom love sprinkles. When we get ice cream, we ALWAYS ask for extra sprinkles. We used to have the ice cream people put sprinkles in the bottom of the cup before adding the ice cream, and then we would have them add more to the top. Pretty much a sprinkle sandwich with ice cream in the middle.

Now, we just order a small cup with sprinkles and add them on our own. (Or just eat sprinkles as a snack…)

So adding sprinkles to any kind of baked good gets a thumbs up from me.

And while cake is fun and yummy, you know how I love me some cupcakes.

I haven’t made cupcakes in a while because I’ve totally and completely fallen in love with cookies and simply CANNOT stop making them.

But for this post, I present thee with cupcakes.

I’m sure you guys are glad for a cookie break.

Don’t count on it lasting though. You’ve been warned. I mean, I didn’t just cake cookies this morning. I swear…

Do you think there are too many sprinkles in there? Whatevs.

Uhh…also just ignore that blob of flour that wasn’t mix in properly -___-

Just look at those sprinkles throughout the batter. Cuteness overload.

Oh, and if anyone can tell me how to prevent my cupcake wrappers from folding in like that, I am completely and openly available for suggestions. I will also be your best friend forever.

Prize of the century. No biggie.

More sprinkles on top. Life lesson: there is NEVER a thing as too many sprinkles.

TA-DA!! CUTEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

I don’t know if it’s just me, you know how sprinkles have that cake batter taste? Well, because there are so many in here, the cupcakes taste like cake batter. Cooked cake batter. Totally safe. Vanilla cake batter. Wonderful. Just wonderful.

Oh, and this vanilla buttercream? Yeah, it’s pretty much the bees knees. It’s my go-to recipe whenever I need vanilla buttercream. It’s light and fluffy and the perfect amount of sweetness. Trust me. Try and it you will be instantly hooked.

Funfetti cake is nostalgic for me. It reminds me of when I was a kid. It reminds me of my birthday cakes that my mom would make for me. It also reminds me of sneaking tiny slices of left over cake day by day until there was none left and no one else to blame for it other than me.

Go ahead. Sneak a cupcake. Or 2.

I won’t tell.

HOMEMADE FUNFETTI CUPCAKES

Recipe by How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 whole eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup milk

1/3 cup assorted brightly colored sprinkles + more for top of frosting

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add half of the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add the milk. Once mixed, add remaining dry ingredients. Fold in assorted sprinkles.

Pour into cupcake tins and fill 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Let cool, then frost.

VANILLA BUTTERCREAM

Recipe by Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients:

1 cup (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2½ cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Using the wire whisk attachment of your stand mixer, whip the butter on medium-high speed for 5 minutes, stopping to scrape the bowl once or twice.

Reduce the speed to low and gradually add the powdered sugar. Once all of the powdered sugar is incorporated, increase the speed to medium-high and add the vanilla, mixing until incorporated. Whip at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes, scraping the bowl as needed.

One thought on “Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Bottomed Vanilla Cupcakes « Bake Me Famous

Leave a Reply

