No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Can you call these cookies?

Yes, right?

I know…they’re not “baked” per say, but they’re still in the round cookie shape.

So yes. I can call these cookies.

Glad we got that out of the way.

I’m lazy. And broke. Lazy broke.

I’m lazy because well, hi. I just am sometimes. And I’m broke because I’m leaving for Italy in 9 days. Ever plan a trip for 11 days and realize “OH MY GOD. I HAVE NO CLOTHES”?

Welcome to my life for the past 2 weeks. Running around, spending money I don’t have, freaking out, panicking, I’m sure crying can be thrown in there too.

Packing is S-T-R-E-S-S-F-U-L.

Especially when you can only bring 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on. And did I mention the part about not having any clothes? I literally don’t have a wardrobe. That’s a minor problem.

I never thought packing for a trip could make me go crazy. I lost my marbles. It shouldn’t be this difficult. So many rules and restrictions. Don’t restrict me! Cannot. Handle. It.

I was in Marshalls this weekend and I couldn’t find ANYTHING. Nothing, zip, nada. And I was freaking out. I was on the verge of crying and hysterically laughing at the same time because I just couldn’t control my emotions. They were coming out and I couldn’t stop them.

I quickly left the clothes section and went to the part of the store that I knew would calm me: The kitchen section.

Once I was surrounded by baking sheets and pans and measuring cups I felt instantly calm. I was in my comfort zone. I picked up an ice cream scooper and these adorable little maple leaf sprinkles (in fall colors!). Capital Cuteness.

I then continued to walk back into the clothes section. I ended up in the sock section.

In the sock section with an ice cream scooper and sprinkles.

People may have thought I was crazy. No one else does this? Whatevs.

Needless to say, I didn’t find anything beneficial to my clothing needs. But that was OK. Because holding that scooper and sprinkles, I was fine. Calm.

Then when we left, I left the scooper and sprinkles in the store. In the sock section. It will do some other girl good when they have nothing to pack.

Pay It Forward.

My Aunt got mad at me when I didn’t buy them. But I didn’t need to. I just needed to hold them. Have I been spending too much time in the kitchen? Probably. But you know what? In the kitchen is where I feel happiest and calm. I know what I’m doing when I’m in there. It’s my comfort zone. It’s my home. I’m happy there, and I just needed some jolt of that to keep me from freaking. And if that scooper and sprinkles is what did that for me, then so be it.

Creepy or not creepy.

Creepy.

I still had all this anxiety over this trip the other night. I needed to channel my nerves and anxiety somewhere. I could have ran on the treadmill. HA! Lazy.

So I made cookies. Duh.

I couldn’t really handle a legit cookie recipe. I needed something quick. I just needed to do a little baking to ease the brain. And I didn’t want to use my brain.

Insert No Bake Cookies.

These little puppies come together in basically 10 minutes. And everything is made in a pot on the stove. Cha.

Here’s the dealio. Put butter, sugar, cocoa powder, and milk in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. This reminds me of making caramel. And I’m a HUGE fan of that, so…right on!

Once that is done boiling for a minute, stir in the peanut butter and vanilla extract. Then add the oats.

Spoon onto a baking sheet and let cool. Once they’re set…time to eat!!

And as long as that took you to read, was how long the recipe took to make.

Just what I needed. A quick, yummy fix that wasn’t complicated or time consuming.

FIT. THE. BILL.

And because of the caramel-y type flavor you get from boiling the sugar and butter, these cookies remind me of big pieces of candy. Perfect little fix to keep in your desk drawer at work when you’re sweet tooth hits and you need something to munch on.

Uncomplicated.

Man, that must be nice.

NO BAKE CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER OATMEAL COOKIES

Recipe by Brown Eyed Baker

Ingredients:

½ cup (1 stick) butter
2 cups granulated sugar
½ cup milk
4 tablespoons cocoa powder
½ cup peanut butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups quick-cooking oats

Directions:

1. Add the first four ingredients (through the cocoa powder) to a 4-quart saucepan.

2. Bring to a rolling boil and let boil for 1 minute.

3. Remove from heat.

4. Stir in the peanut butter and vanilla until smooth, then stir in the oats.

5. Drop by heaping tablespoons onto wax paper-lined baking sheets.

6. Let cool until set.

2 thoughts on “No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

