Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips

I felt yuckie yesterday.

It was hard to explain to people when they asked what was wrong. I just didn’t feel “here”. It felt like my brain was in some other world and my body couldn’t catch up to find it. Off-kilter, dizzy, tired, blah.

Pretty much summed up my day yesterday.

I guess it was pretty obvious to my co-workers too. One co-worker came up and asked if I felt OK.

“Hey, Deanna. Are you feeling OK?”

“Umm…you know what? Not really.”

“Yeah, you look really out of it. You just look spaced out. And your eyes are really dark.”

-_______-

Kewl.

And of course we had like the busiest day in a long time at work, so I needed to be on my game. Or I at least had to pretend that I looked like I was on my game. Same difference.

Oh, I also may have become a drug addict yesterday too.

Minor problem.

People kept giving me pills to take to make myself feel better. And on top of that, I’m already taking a prescription that my doctor prescribed me.

But who was I to turn down goodies that could make me feel better? Not this girl. I didn’t want to be rude.

So I took them.

And kept taking them.

Maybe my lightheadedness wasn’t from me not feeling well? Mute point.

So finally the day ended, and I was still not right.

I got home and did the only thing that I knew would cheer me up and make me feel good.

I baked some cookies.

Gosh, I should be a Doctor.

“What ma’am? You misfired a staple gun and shot yourself in the chest? Load up on 10 CC’s of chocolate cake. STAT!”

“Sir. You seem to have a broken ankle. We need to ice it. Please dunk your foot in this tube of ice cream.”

I’d make miracles happen people.

I just love me some cookies. They’re the perfect pick-me-up.

And these?

Every doctor in America, nay, the WORLD, should prescribe these to patients.

Not only would everyone feel so much better, but the world would be a happier place.

The only problem with that thought?

People might become addicts.

Because I totally did, and I think my co-workers may have as well.

I believe someone got legit sad and started shaking the empty container because there were none left. She had a sad pout on and everything.

(And btw- since we’re talking about pouts. The ONLY pout that should be on faces should be a sad-no-more-cookies pout. No more of this “duck face” pout you make when you take a picture of yourself to put on Facebook. Seriously. You do not look like that when you meet or talk to people. Stop it. Stop it right now.)

But I digress.

You know when you eat something, and you have that instant panic along the lines of “OMG I totally should not have eaten that because all I want to do for the rest of my life is eat this.”

Yeah, I panicked.

“I really shouldn’t have made these. I REALLY shouldn’t have made these.”

The thing about cookies, to me, is this: I LOVE chewy cookies. I love thick, puffy, chewy cookies. I’m not one for thin, brittle, crispy cookies.

The thicker and chewier the better. Am I right, ladies?!

Oh gosh. I’m sorry. It’s the cookies talking.

Ok, so now imagine the best fluffy and chewy chocolate chip cookie. Got it? OK. Now add peanut butter to that cookie. Glorious melted peanut butter. Right into the batter.

Think of it as a peanut butter cookie with chocolate chips. Well actually don’t think. That’s what it is.

Can you handle it? Do you need medication? I can totally help you there.

If you can remember, I made chocolate peanut butter cookies not too long ago. Compare them to these? Ugh, you really can’t. Those chocolate cookies are NOTHING compared to these. Those were a little crumbly. Still great…but not compared to these. And totally different because they were a chocolate cookie. Moving on….

Chocolate and Peanut Butter. Such an amazing combination. I mean, hello! Reese Peanut Butter Cups!

Next to the Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, these are my favorite cookies I’ve ever made.

And just look at them! You can totally tell how puffy and chewy they are.

You know those playpen things that are filled with plastic balls and you just jump around in them? I want to play in that. Filled with these cookies.

Yup. I could dive right in and get lost in these cookies.

Come on. Look how chewy!!

And wouldn’t you know. As soon as I ate one, I immediately felt better.

Mind games? Maybe.

Did I care? No.

Please. If you’re feeling down, or sick, or you are just craving a cookie, make these.

Trust me.

I’m a pretend Doctor.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES WITH CHOCOLATE CHIPS

Recipe from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoons baking soda

8 tablespoons of salted butter, melted and cooled

6 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Add butter and peanut butter to a microwave safe bowl, and heat in 30 second increments until melted. Let cool completely.

Mix the flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix the cooled butter/peanut butter and sugars until they are combined. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and stir until mixed. Gradually add flour and mix until a dough forms – it will look crumbly at first, but it will come together. I even used my hands to bring it all together. If necessary, add 1-2 teaspoons of milk, but I did not need this. Fold in chocolate chips.

Shape the dough into a ball the size of a golfball. Place on a baking sheet two inches apart and bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are slightly brown. The centers should be soft and puffy. Do not over bake. Let cool completely then GO TO TOWN.

No shame, people.

Leave a Reply

